Research Guides
History : Women: Home
A research guide to primary and secondary sources for women's history.
Citation & Writing Help
Historians generally use the Chicago Style format. For more citation info see Citing Sources.
Schedule a writing center appointment.
Additional information on researching & writing.
Related Guides
If you are researching women in a certain region, also see the regional history guides.
Starting Points: Books & eBooks
See the eBook FAQ for directions to limit your search to ebooks only.
- By Topic - Type in the keywords that broadly describe your topic. For example: motherhood united states 20th history
- By Title - Type in the first few words of the book title in quotations. For example: "modern girl around the world".
- By Author - Type in the last name followed by the first name of the author in quotations. For example: "ebrey patricia"
Starting Points: Journal Articles
The following research databases will help you identify articles on women's history. Additional research databases are listed under Articles.
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Best database to articles written on American & Canadian history - Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Best database to articles written on modern world history (Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe & Latin America from 1450 onward) - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals & books in all disciplines
Starting Points - Primary Sources
This is a small sampling of primary sources dealing with women's history. Additional sources are listed under Primary Source section of this guide.
- Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Records of the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs, 1895-1992, Pt. 1-2
- This link opens in a new window
- Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Open Scholarship & Digital History Librarian
New History Book of the Day
Loading ...