Integrated Social Sciences Program: Home

Guide for the online Integrated Social Sciences program

Welcome

Library Research Award for Undergraduates: Submissions due April 30!

ISS Links

ISS Website
Discover student services, relevant ISS news, info about staff and faculty and more
ISS Course Offerings
Descriptions and thematic areas for all courses offered through ISS
ISS Resources
Info for successful online learning, tech help and campus resources

Starting Points / Top Resources

UW Libraries Search
Use UW Libraries Search to find articles, book chapters, books, DVDs and more. This is the largest search you can use, make sure to sign in with your UW NetID.
Google Scholar
Free web search that specifically searches scholarly literature. You can map Google Scholar to the UW Libraries for full-text.
Cite Black Authors
Academic database to search for Black scholars and authors in all fields. Search here for relevant authors, then use UW Libraries search by author name for works.
Ethnics Studies Commons
The Digital Commons Network provides free access to full-text scholarly articles and other research from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. This dynamic research tool includes peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.

UW Libraries Article Databases & Resources

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in all disciplines.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Collection of humanities & social sciences electronic journals & 20,000+ ebooks.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Overview of contemporary social issues with relevant articles, videos, opposing views, and more
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Introductions to topics and critical surveys of the current state of scholarship in diverse fields of sudy.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Full text encyclopedias in all subject areas
SAGE Research Methods Online (SRM) This link opens in a new window
Resources to answer your research methods and statistics questions. Includes case studies, citations and videos in a variety of social science disciplines
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Use this to find published literature reviews in the social sciences and sciences

Popular & Non-Academic Resources

JSTOR Daily
An online publication that contextualizes current events with scholarship
The Society Pages
An open-access social science project out of University of Minnesota consisting of articles, blogs, and podcasts.

Librarian

Reed Garber-Pearson

they/them

Email Me

Contact:

165 Suzzallo Library
Box 352900
Seattle, WA 98195-2900
dxʷdəwʔabš (Duwamish) land

206-616-9656

My Accessibility Practices

I strive to make my communications and appointments with you as accessible as possible. Here are standard practices I use.

Alt-text for images
Captions for video content
Heading structure to provide hierarchy
Lists instead of tables
Hyperlinks

The UW Libraries provides a number of accessibility accommodations and kits, available for check-out. To see the accessibility features of the Libraries, see Accessibility at the Libraries.