Integrated Social Sciences Program: Conflict & Cooperation

Guide for the online Integrated Social Sciences program

Introduction

Courses in the area of Conflict and Cooperation (CC) provide you with insight into diverse social factors shaping human conflict and peace. From cultural politics to religion and geopolitics, these topics are taught with close attention to region and representation.

Conflict & Cooperation Theme

Gulf War Protest, Seattle 1991. Brock Adams Photo Collection. PH Coll 622, University of Washington Special Collections.

Public Conversations

Think Tanks Search (Google)
Think tanks are groups affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, NGOs, and businesses that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity
Seattle Activism: Organization Directory
Comprehensive list of local organizations working across social justice issues, including those of local and international conflict
The Conversation
An independent news and commentary website with expertise from academics, edited by journalists.

Related Databases

Some key databases related to this theme are not limited to, but include the following. Those with the icon are available online through the UW Libraries.

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on American and Canadian history
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social and public policy literature from periodicals, government documents, books, and other sources.
Philosopher's Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles & books on philosophy.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in the field of sociology, including international literature and other related disciplines.

Related Guides

Subject guides with in-depth resources in a particular topic or area of emphasis: