Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us!
University of Washington Libraries

Library Guides

LGBTQIA+ Archival Resources: Home

banner

Pride flag variant based on Daniel Quasar's 2018 design combining elements of the Philadelphia flag and the trans pride flag, and brown and black. This guide is a starting point for students and faculty seeking to better understand LGBTQIA+/queer issues in the Pacific Northwest through UW's special collections and archives. It is a work in progress, additional resources will be added. Please send your suggestions to us. 43rd Annual Pride Parade: Rainbow flag flies from the top of the Space Needle, 4th Ave. and Battery St., Seattle, Washington, June 25, 2017

Scope and Content

The majority of the collections, photographs, and other media featured on this Resource Guide are housed in UW Special Collections. This Guide is not an exhaustive list, but should act as a starting point for research.

The content under each tab is organized by collection type: Archival Collections, Archived Websites, Books and Dissertations, Newspapers and Journals, Oral Histories, Photograph Collections, and Video Collections. While each subject has a variety of materials to look at, some collection types may not be featured under each tab.

Search for Archival Collections

Our Collection Guides search tool has migrated to Archives West.

Search for Library Materials

 

Advanced Search | FAQ | Known Issues

43rd Annual Pride Parade: Marcher holding a sign reading "Pride was started by a black trans woman - Marsha Johnson", Denny Way at 2nd Ave N., Seattle, Washington, June 25, 2017

43rd Annual Pride Parade, Seattle, 2017, 43rd Annual Seattle Pride Parade Photograph Collection

Credits

This guide was curated by Challen Wright, a MLIS graduate student and UW Special Collections student worker in Fall/Winter 2020.

For any questions about this resource guide or for help in further research, please contact Anne Jenner, the PNW Curator at ajenner@uw.edu.

UW iSchool Capstone Projects

Special Collections

Special Collections is the UW Libraries' major resource for rare and archival materials covering a broad range of topics, formats, and periods. The Special Collections reading room, located on the lower level of Allen Library South, is open to the public on weekdays

Major collecting areas are overseen by curators/archivists.

Pacific Northwest Collections
University of Washington Archives
‚ÄčLabor Archives of Washington
Washington State Jewish Archives
Book  Arts & Rare Books
Digital Collections
Historical Visual Materials
History of Science and Medicine

UW Libraries | UW Bothell/CC Campus Library | UW Tacoma Library | Health Sciences Library | Gallagher Law Library
Responsible Use of Electronic Resources | Privacy | Terms