Library Guides: LGBTQIA+ Archival Resources: Queer Centers &amp; Spaces

Oral Histories

Ariana Chini Interview, 2018 An interview with Ariana Chini about her role and position as the first Program Manager of the Diversity Center at the University of Washington Bothell, Bothell, WA.

Books and Theses

Perceptions of unsafe landscapes in urban queer spaces by Dean Webster Koonts, 2000
Sexual racism in gay communities : negotiating the ethnosexual marketplace by Mary Dianne Plummer, 2007

Living room, Gay Community Center at 102 Cherry St., probably 1971, Tim Mayhew photograph collection

Advocates and Allies (Gayla 2019), (Video from Rainbow Center's Education Program)

Archived Websites

The Community Center The Community Center (TCC) is committed to uniting the LGBTQA community through educational and developmental programs. As well as, providing resources for individuals new and old to the LGBTQA community for education and find much needed support. Founded in December 1983, The Community Center is the only facility in Idaho exclusively devoted to the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender (LGBT) and allied population. TCC is a non-profit 501(C) 3 organization.
Lambert House Lambert House is a center for Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Questioning youth that empowers youth through the development of leadership, social and life skills.
Q Center The University of Washington Q Center is a fierce primarily student run resource center dedicated to serving anyone with or without a gender or sexuality: UW students, staff, faculty, alum, and community members. We host and support student groups, put on regular programming events, house a lending library, and amplify student voices on our Student Blog.
Rainbow Center (Seattle) Through education, advocacy, and celebration, the Rainbow Center expands resources and safe space for the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and allied (LGBTQA) community.
Rainbow Center Olympia A virtual community center for Olympia and surrounding communities, serving the gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender and allied people.
The Western Montana Community Center The Western Montana Community Center is an open affirming environment for peoples of all sexual orientations and gender identity expressions. We empower our community through education, advocacy, and collaborative networking. We strive to be Western Montana’s voice for the LGBTIQ community and allies.

Newspapers and Journals

Gay Community Center (GCC) Newsletter, 1980

Photograph Collections

Tim Mayhew Photograph Collection, 1971 PH Collection 705. Contains photographs of what is possibly the Dorian House. Images of the interior of the Gay Community Center a counseling center and employment service for Seattle's gay community by a gay rights activist.
Young Women's Christian Association (University of Washington) Photograph Collection, 1971-1981 PH Collection 628. Contains photographs relating to the Lesbian Resource Center, including portraits of co-coordinators Shelley Reddick and Kathy Timmons.

Gary Lambert, LGBTQ youth advocate in which the Lambert House was named after. (Photo from Lambert House)