Library Guides: LGBTQIA+ Archival Resources: Activism &amp; Advocacy

Archival Collections

Charna Klein Papers, 1970-1996 Accession 5090. Charna Klein is a gay rights activist and psychological anthropologist who has done extensive research into gay and lesbian counseling services and the lesbian/gay mental health movement. She is a founding member of Congregation Tikvah Chadashah, a GLBTQ Jewish congregation in the Puget Sound area.
John M. Eccles Papers, 1946-1977 Accession 4517-001. Born in Buckley, Washington, John Eccles was active in the Los Angeles Mattachine Society during the 1960s. The collection consists of published gay pamphlets, newletters, magazines and ephemera along with Eccles's notes for a thesis, a small amount of correspondence, audio tape recordings of lectures and discussions on homosexuality, and transcripts of interviews and radio programs.
Lesbian Mothers National Defense Fund papers, 1967-2004 Accession 5837. Officially titled the Geraldine V. Cole Papers, Cole was a founding member of the Seattle based Lesbian Mothers National Defense Fund in the 1970s. The collection mainly features items about the LMNDF's activities.
Tim Mayhew Collection on Gay Rights, 1964-1999 Accession 4440. A Seattle-area gay rights activist since the 1970s, Tim Mayhew has collected archival materials from a number of community and civil rights organizations.

Books and Dissertations

Women's March on Seattle, 2017, Women's March Collection

Seattle Women's March, 2018, Pacific Northwest Political Marches, Rallies and Parades Collection

Photograph Collections

Don Paulson Collection of Political and Social Ephemera, 1953-2007 This collection contains a variety of ephemera gathered by Seattle-born author, artist, and chronicler of local drag culture, Donald Charles "Don" Paulson (1933-2012). Most items are flyers and posters about many events and issues regarding queer activism, events, and protests.
Pacific Northwest Political Marches and Rallies, 2017 This collection consists of images of marches, protests, rallies, and sign waving demonstrations that took place across the Pacific Northwest following the election of President Donald J. Trump.
UW Bothell Feminist Community Archive of Washington A large collection of a variety of ephemera including oral histories, pamphlets, posters, photographs, and scanned objects regarding feminist and queer activism in the Pacific Northwest area.

Oral Histories

Northwest Lesbian and Gay History Museum Project oral histories Accession 5929-001. An oral history collection of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and heterosexual narrators focusing on the conditions the narrators experienced before the activist period, the early homophile movement in Seattle, the founding or early days of activist and service organizations, and ongoing activism since those times.

Archived Websites

American Civil Liberties Union of Idaho The ACLU of Idaho strives to advance civil liberties and civil rights by activities that include litigation, education, and lobbying.
American Civil Liberties Union of Oregon The Oregon Affiliate of the ACLU is a nonpartisan organization dedicated to the preservation and enhancement of civil liberties and civil rights.
American Civil Liberties Union of Washington The ACLU is an unwavering voice of liberty in courtrooms, legislatures and public squares, willing to take on clients, causes and cases that advance our basic rights, without regard to popular whim or the current political climate, and paying particular attention to the rights of those people who have historically been disenfranchised.
Basic Rights Oregon Basic Rights Oregon will ensure that all lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender Oregonians experience equality by building a broad and inclusive politically powerful movement, shifting public opinion, and achieving policy victories. Basic Rights Oregon is a member of the Equality Federation.
Equal Rights Washington (ERW) Equal Rights Washington (ERW) is Washington’s largest statewide lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) advocacy and community outreach organization. ERW's mission is to ensure and promote dignity, safety, and equality for all lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer Washingtonians.
Gay and Lesbian Organizations and Publications of the Northwest and British Columbia List of "non-profit and/or information-providing organizations and publications with websites. This is a historical file as of September 2009. Not updated."
The Imperial Sovereign Court of Seattle and the Olympic and Rainier Empire The Court of Seattle Organization dba The Imperial Sovereign Court of Seattle & The Olympic and Rainier Empire is a 501(c)(3) non profit social/charitable organization whose purpose is to provide funds and services to other non-profits within the Gay and Lesbian Community of Seattle and King County Washington.
PFLAG-Olympia Parents, Families & Friends of Lesbians & Gays (PFLAG) - Olympia is the local chapter of the nation's foremost family-based organization committed to the civil rights of gays, lesbians, bisexual and transgender persons.
PFLAG Bellingham Parents, Families, and Friends of Lesbians and Gays (PFLAG) promotes the health and well-being of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgendered and questioning persons, their families and friends. We do this through support, to help cope with an adverse society; education, to enlighten all; and advocacy, to end discrimination and secure equal civil rights. PFLAG provides opportunities for dialogue about sexual orientation and gender identity, and works to create a society that is healthy and respectful of human diversity.
PFLAG Corvallis-Albany Parents, Families and Friends of Lesbians and Gays (PFLAG) provides love and support for all family members and friends. We work to create an environment of understanding so our lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgendered children can live with dignity and respect.
PFLAG Portland Parents, Families & Friends of Lesbians & Gays (PFLAG) supporting LGBTQ persons, their families, and friends through love and understanding, education, and advocacy.
PFLAG Seattle The Seattle Chapter of Parents, Families, and Friends of Lesbians and Gays promotes the health and well-being of gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender persons, their families and friends through: support to cope with an adverse society; education to enlighten an ill-informed public; and advocacy to end discrimination and secure equal civil rights. Parents, Families & Friends of Lesbians & Gays.
PFLAG Spokane Parents, Families and Friends of Lesbians and Gays
Your Family, Friends and Neighbors Your Family, Friends and Neighbors (YFFN) is a grassroots organization dedicated to advancing equality for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender people through community organizing, advocacy and leadership strategies that empower LGBT communities and their allies who work for progressive social change.

43rd Annual Pride Parade, Seattle, 2017, Pacific Northwest Political Marches, Rallies and Parades Collection