LING/ANTH 432 & 532: Sociolinguistics I: Bibliographic Databases: Articles

Bibliographic databases provide references to scholarly articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations. Unlike web searches, these databases are curated by information professionals, offering authoritative and discipline-specific content. Use databases to efficiently gather information about a linguist’s contributions by identifying key publications, reviews, and scholarly discussions of their work.

• Focused Search: Results are more relevant than web search since databases are often discipline-based.
• Advanced Features: Use filters and search options for precise results.
• Comprehensive Coverage: Access specialized content not available through general library searches.

General Search Strategies for Databases

Use databases' advanced search features to find information on a linguist and their work. These general tips will get you started.

• Start with an Author Search to find their publications.
• Search for their name as a Subject to find discussions of their work.
• Use keywords related to their theories to refine results.
• Look for book reviews, retrospectives, or special issues for summaries of their impact.

Recommended Databases

Finding the Linguist’s Own Publications

• Search by Author – Enter the linguist’s name (e.g., William Labov) in the author field to find books, articles, and conference papers they have written.
• Sort by Date – Reviewing their work chronologically helps trace the development of their ideas.
• Look for Key Publications – Identify their most-cited or influential works, which may be essential to include in the overview.

Finding Scholarly Discussions of Their Work

• Search for Their Name as a Subject – Many databases tag articles discussing a linguist’s theories or contributions. Searching their name in the subject or descriptor field can retrieve relevant secondary literature.
• Use Keywords Related to Their Contributions – If the scholar is known for a specific concept (e.g., “variationist sociolinguistics” for Labov), searching for their name alongside that term can refine results.

Identifying Book Reviews and Citation Trends

• Search for Reviews of Their Books – Book reviews in LLBA and MLAIB provide summaries and critiques of their work, often highlighting its impact.
• Look at Citation Patterns – While these databases don’t always provide citation counts, searching for articles that reference their major works can help gauge their influence.

Locating Retrospectives and Obituaries

• Find Review Articles – Special issues of journals or retrospective pieces often summarize a linguist’s impact.
• Check for Memorial Publications – If the scholar has passed away, LLBA or MLAIB may include obituaries or tributes discussing their contributions.