Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- LING/ANTH 432 & 532: Sociolinguistics I
- Reference Sources (Background Information)
LING/ANTH 432 & 532: Sociolinguistics I: Reference Sources (Background Information)
Guide to finding sources for Sociolinguistics I (LING/ANTH 432 & 532) coursework
Reference Resources
Scholarly reference sources provide reliable, authoritative background information on key topics, theories, and scholars in sociolinguistics. When researching a sociolinguist and their contributions to the field, scholarly reference sources provide essential background information, summaries of key works, and discussions of their impact on sociolinguistic scholarship.
Reference sources—including encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, bibliographies, etc.—summarize established knowledge and guide you toward foundational and influential works.
- Unlike journal articles or books that present original research, reference works provide well-researched overviews written by experts.
- Unlike bibliographic databases that list citations to research and other scholarly publications, reference works focus on summarizing key concepts, theories, and scholars.
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias are a good starting point for learning about a linguist's scholarship and influence, and contextualizing their work in the broader field. When looking for information on a linguist in an encyclopedia, look for:
- Articles about the linguist: Influential linguists might have an article devoted to them and their work.
- References to the linguist in other articles: Use an online encyclopedia's internal search function to find articles mentioning the linguist.
- Contributor biographical sketches: Some reference works include brief sketches of authors contributing articles. Look for a linguist's name among the contributors to see if there is any biographical information.
Recommended Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics by Call Number: EBOOKPublication Date: 2006 (2nd ed.)This book, international in scope, is the most authoritative, up-to-date, and comprehensive reference source in the field of linguistics. Since the encyclopedia is discipline-specific, it provides a good overview of various topics in linguistics with succinct, accessible articles.
Annotated Bibliographies
Annotated bibliographies provide curated lists of important books, articles, and chapters on a particular topic, often with expert commentary on each source’s significance. Searching a bibliography for annotations mentioning a particular linguist can be especially helpful in identifying and contextualizing their most noteworthy contributions.
Recommended Bibliography
- Oxford Bibliographies in Linguistics: SociolinguisticsOxford Bibliographies provide scholarly, annotated listings of the most important and significant sources on social sciences and humanities subjects.