Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- Sports Studies
- Newspapers & Magazines
Sports Studies: Newspapers & Magazines
Sports have been covered in newspapers since the mid-19th century, by the early 20th century most American newspapers included a special sports section. News coverage of sports tends to focus on coverage of specific games though sports-related issues can also be covered. Current and historic news sources are available. For additional news sources avaialble online and on microfilm see the News guide.
Current Newspaper Databases
These databases have include news coverage from roughly the 1990s to the present and includes both local, national, and international sources.
- Access World News
This link opens in a new window
- Global Newsstream
- This link opens in a new window
Current & Historic Magazines
- News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive (feat. Newsweek) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historic Newspapers
Check the eNewspapers guide and the regional history guides for additional historic newspapers available online.
- Proquest Historical Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Includes: Atlanta Constitution, Baltimore Afro-American, Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, Chinese Newspapers Collection, Globe & Mail, The Guardian and The Observer, Korea Times, LA Times, New York Amsterdam News, New York Times, Pittsburgh Courier, Spokesman Review, Times of India, Vancouver Sun, Wall Street Journal, & Washington Post. - Japan Times Archives 1897-2022
- This link opens in a new window
- Seattle Post-Intelligencer 1901- 2009
- This link opens in a new window
- Seattle Times 1895-present
- This link opens in a new window
- Times of London 1785-2014
- This link opens in a new window
Free Husky Subscriptions
Get your free online subscriptions to three newspapers courtesy of the UW Libraries. Follow the directions given under each newspaper below to register for your free subscription.