Skip to main content
Skip to primary content
Skip to sidebar content
University of Washington
Start Your Research
Articles & Research Databases
Literature on your research topic and direct access to articles online, when available at UW.
Alphabetical list of electronic journal titles held at UW.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Resources for looking up quick facts and background information.
E-Newspapers, Media, Maps & More
Recommendations for finding news, audio/video, images, government publications, data sets and other types.
Librarian recommended resources & research tips tailored to your topic.
Citation Styles & Tools
Quick MLA, APA, and Chicago style guides for bibliographies; citation management software info.
Library materials reserved for your classes.
Collections & Archives
Unique online and physical collections on specific subjects, in distinct formats, and in special archives.
Mobile Search Tools
Mobile-optimized research databases and library-related mobile apps.
Use the Libraries
Your Library Account
Log in to renew borrowed materials, check on items you have requested, and pay fines.
Study & Meeting Spaces
Study, conference, event, and meeting spaces, and how to reserve them.
Computers & Printing
Computers, printers, and scanners in the Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery Service
Get PDFs of print articles delivered via email and borrow items not held at UW.
Borrowing & Access
What you can check out from the Libraries, how long, renewals, and returns.
on using the Libraries
Help & Support
Examples of digital scholarship at the UW and where to get assistance with any phase of your project.
Short, simple how-to and demos of frequently asked questions about using the Libraries and information resources.
Graduate Funding Info Service
Assistance with locating funding for research, tuition, travel, and other graduate school-related expenses.
Off-Campus Access & Technical Support
Using library resources from off-campus and other technical tips.
Tools for archiving and publishing the products of your research, including data sets, monographs, images, articles, and reports.
Scholarly Publishing & Open Access
Info on your rights as an author and open-access publishing alternatives.
Collaborative library instructional services that can improve the research and information skills of your students.
Resources for Writing
Campus writing help and links to online resources.
Libraries & Hours
Contact info, map location, and hours for all library branches.
News Events Exhibits
What's going on at the Libraries: announcements, upcoming events, and current exhibits.
People & Programs
Staff directory and info about the Office of the Dean and other library departments.
Support the Libraries
Give to the Libraries! Join the Friends of the Libraries.
Info for users with disabilities about navigating the Libraries and its services.
Student, staff, and librarian job opportunities at the Libraries.
Libraries policies governing use of library resources, space, and services.
Current Libraries strategic goals and initiatives.
about the Libraries
Get help 24/7 with this real-time chat service.
Get answers to less-urgent questions and comments via email.
Reach us during regular business hours. Main: 206-543-0242
Click to chat now with a UW librarian
ways to contact us
Other guides (K-Manhwa,etc.)
Start Your Research
University of Washington Libraries
Korean Studies: Newspapers
Choson Ilbo Archive 1920 - today's paper
Kyongsong Ilbo (1907-1935)
Naver News Library (네이버 뉴스 라이브러리)
1920-1999 Tonga Ilbo, Kyonghyang Sinmun and Maeil Kyongje
Major Korean Newspapers Online including older newspapers such as Tongnip Sinmun from 1896
한인발행 근현대 신문잡지 (성균관대학교)
Fee based services
North Korea News
조선통신 (English and Korean)
North Korea Times
The Daily NK
Global News Sources
17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
Early newspapers from Great Britain and its colonies, plus several French and Dutch papers.
Access World News [NewsBank]
Newspapers, transcripts, wire services, broadcasts, and more.
Chinese Newspapers Collection
Newspaper page images, 1832-1953. English language newspapers including North China Herald 1850-1941 & Chinese Recorder 1868-1941
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS)
Index to FBIS Daily Reports summarizing foreign news broadcasts grouped by world region.
Learn more about
Mostly full-text, mid 1980s to current
International, national, & regional newspapers.
Guardian & Observer [ProQuest]
Newspaper page images through 2003
Includes the two British newspapers, Guardian 1821-2003 and Observer 1791-2003.
Japan Times Archives
Newspaper page images, 1897-2016
Mostly full-text, early 1980s to current
Newspapers, transcripts, wire services, and more.
Library Press Reader
Newspaper page images, last 60 days only
Hundreds of current (last 60 days only) newspapers from more than 95 countries, displayed in their original page image format.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspapers, television and radio broadcast transcripts.
ProQuest Digital Microfilm - Guardian
Newspaper page images, 2010-present
For issues 1920 to 2009, use Microfilm A7598.
Times (of London) [Gale]
Newspaper page images, 1785-2012
For more recent coverage, use
Access World News
Times of India [ProQuest]
Newspaper page images, 1838-2008
World Newspaper Archive
Newspaper page images, 1800-1922
Growing collection of historical newspapers from around the non-Western world.
Nov 7, 2018 10:32 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
East Asian Studies