BES 301: Science Methods & Practice (Valdez): Find Articles

Scholarly Science Databases

If your question(s) include plants, animals or other living organisms, make sure you know both the common and scientific (or Latin) names before you begin your research.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation index for the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in all disciplines.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Major index to articles covering all aspects of medicine.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Scientific and management literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians.

Google Scholar
Use to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers. Not all material is free. Connect Google Scholar to UW Libraries and look for the “Check for Full-Text at UW” link.

How can I get the full text of an article?

What should you do if you find an interesting article in a database but no link to the full text?

Click on the purple "Check for full text" button – this button will attempt to connect you to the full text article if it is owned by the UW.

Article Lookup

Find an article by DOI or PMID

Chat with a UW Librarian

Peer Review

Is my journal article peer reviewed or refereed?

Search for your journal title (NOT article title) below, in Ulrich's.

If the journal's record indicates it is refereed, it's likely (but not guaranteed) your article has been peer reviewed.

Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window
Ulrich's directory to 300,000+ journals and other serials.

More tips for identifying scholarly sources