Research Guides
Cinema Studies: Background Sources
This guide highlights recommended resources for research in Cinema Studies.
Why Use Background Sources?
|
Encyclopedias help you figure out the who, what & where of a topic. Encyclopedias and dictionaries can provide background information and can be used to identify key people, events and dates which can then be used as search terms for finding additional information. Many also provide a jumpstart on your research by listing related readings. The resources listed here provide a sampling of the many background sources available on cinema. They include both print and online resources Also search for film related topics in these three online collections: Pop Culture Universe, Gale Virtual Reference & Oxford Reference Online.
|
Quick Info
- A to Z of African American Cinema
This link opens in a new window
- Cinema Studies: The Key Concepts
- This link opens in a new window
- Concise Cinegraph: Encyclopaedia of German Cinema
- This link opens in a new window
- Dictionary of African Filmmakers
- This link opens in a new window
- Dictionary of Film Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of British film
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Film Noir
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Religion and Film
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Sports Films
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of Middle Eastern Cinema
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of Science Fiction Cinema
- This link opens in a new window
- Movies in American History
- This link opens in a new window
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Film Theory
- This link opens in a new window
- Silent Players: A Biographical and Autobiographical Study of 100 Silent Film Actors and Actresses
- This link opens in a new window
History of the American Cinema
This seminal 10 volume history covers from 1895 to 1989. Print copies are available in Suzzallo Reference and in Odegaard [PN1993.5.U6 H55 1990]. The online version of each volume is listed below.
- 1. The Emergence of Cinema: The American Cinema to 1907
- This link opens in a new window
- 2. The Transformation of Cinema, 1907-1915
- This link opens in a new window
- 3. An Evening's Entertainment: The Age of the Silent Feature Picture, 1915-1928
- This link opens in a new window
- 4. The Talkies: America's Cinema Transition to Sound, 1926-1931
- This link opens in a new window
- 5. Grand Design: Hollywood as a Modern Business Enterprise, 1930-1939
- This link opens in a new window
- 6. Boom and Bust: The American Cinema in the 1940s
- This link opens in a new window
- 7. Transforming the Screen, 1950-1959
- This link opens in a new window
- 8. The Sixties: 1960-1969
- This link opens in a new window
- 9. Lost Illusions: American Cinema in the Shadow of Watergate and Vietnam, 1970-1979
- This link opens in a new window
- 10. A New Pot of Gold: Hollywood Under the Electronic Rainbow, 1980-1989
- This link opens in a new window
In Depth Background: Genres, Theory & More
- Companion to Early Cinema
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Film Comedy
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Film Noir
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Film Theory
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to literature, film, and adaptation
- This link opens in a new window
- Introduction to Criticism : Literature - Film - Culture
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Film and Media Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Film Music Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- Routledge Companion to Film History
- This link opens in a new window
- What is film theory? an introduction to contemporary debates
- This link opens in a new window
In Depth Background: Regional
- Companion to African Cinema
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to German Cinema
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Italian Cinema
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Latin American Cinema
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Nordic Cinema
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Russian Cinema
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Spanish Cinema
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Chinese Cinemas
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Japanese Cinema
- This link opens in a new window
- Routledge handbook of Indian cinemas
- This link opens in a new window