Skip to main content
Skip to primary content
Skip to sidebar content
University of Washington
Start Your Research
Articles & Research Databases
Literature on your research topic and direct access to articles online, when available at UW.
Alphabetical list of electronic journal titles held at UW.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Resources for looking up quick facts and background information.
E-Newspapers, Media, Maps & More
Recommendations for finding news, audio/video, images, government publications, data sets and other types.
Learn how to choose the best and most reliable information that meets your research needs.
Citation Styles & Tools
Quick MLA, APA, and Chicago style guides for bibliographies; tools for storing and organizing sources.
Library materials reserved for your classes.
Collections & Archives
Unique online and physical collections on specific subjects, in distinct formats, and in special archives.
Mobile Search Tools
Mobile-optimized research databases and library-related mobile apps.
Librarian recommended resources & research tips tailored to your topic.
Use the Libraries
Your Library Account
Log in to renew borrowed materials, check on items you have requested, and pay fines.
Study & Meeting Spaces
Study, conference, event, and meeting spaces, and how to reserve them.
Computers & Printing
Computers, printers, and scanners in the Libraries.
We are committed to providing equal access to library collections, services, and facilities for all library users.
Interlibrary Loan & Scanning Services
Get PDFs of print articles delivered via email and borrow items not held at UW.
Borrowing & Access
What you can check out from the Libraries, how long, renewals, and returns.
on using the Libraries
Help & Support
Examples of digital scholarship at the UW and where to get assistance with any phase of your project.
Short, simple how-to and demos of frequently asked questions about using the Libraries and information resources.
Graduate Funding Info Service
Assistance with locating funding for research, tuition, travel, and other graduate school-related expenses.
Off-Campus Access & Technical Support
Using library resources from off-campus and other technical tips.
Resources for Writing
Campus writing help and links to online resources.
Scholarly Publishing & Open Access
Info and tools for scholarly publishing and open-access publishing alternatives.
Talk to a librarian with expertise in your subject area for help with your research.
Collaborative library instructional services that can improve the research and information skills of your students.
Libraries & Hours
Contact info, map location, and hours for all library branches.
News Events Exhibits
What's going on at the Libraries: announcements, upcoming events, and current exhibits.
Staff directory and info about the Office of the Dean and other library departments.
Support the Libraries
Give to the Libraries! Join the Friends of the Libraries.
News, views and impact stories from the UW Libraries.
Student, staff, and librarian job opportunities at the Libraries.
Libraries policies governing use of library resources, space, and services.
Current Libraries strategic goals and initiatives.
about the Libraries
Get help 24/7 with this real-time chat service.
Get answers to less-urgent questions and comments via email.
Reach us during regular business hours. Main: 206-543-0242
Click to chat online now with a UW librarian
ways to contact us
Topics, Keywords, and Search Tips
Books & Theses
Articles & Journals
Full List of Related Databases
French-language Films & TV
History of the French Language
How to Publish your Article in the Humanities
Library Research Award for Undergraduates
Start Your Research
University of Washington Libraries
French-language Films & TV
French Studies: French-language Films & TV
Library resources for the study of French and Francophone language, literature, and culture.
Film Reviews & Criticism
MLA International Bibliography
This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive source for scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.
Film Index International
Film Index International provides in-depth indexing of over 125,000 films and biographical information for more than 800,000 personalities.
L'Avant Scene Cinema
Starting in 1961, the monthly periodical L'Avant Scene Cinema published scripts for both contemporary films and important films from the past. In the past decade they've branched out to publish interviews and reviews as well.
TV and Radio
INA - Institut National de l'Audiovisuel
Over 100,000 TV and radio shows available online, browsable by decade, topic, etc. It’s free to view or listen to the clips, and they can be purchased for download.
Portal site to TV stations from around the world
Video & Streaming Video
Video resources at the UW and beyond.
DVD, CD and VHS collections can be checked out from 1st floor Circulation.
Media Reserves, computers, equipment, and archival collections are available in the Media Arcade.
Primary Sources >>
Jan 24, 2020 1:43 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.