Skip to Main Content
Select Libraries are open. Online resources and support are available 24/7! Please see our COVID-Update page for reopening dates and hours starting in September. UW Libraries COVID-19 Updates
Complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between 1901-1906.
YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe
Online editon of the 2008 YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe (DS135.E8 Y578 2008, 2 vols., Suzz Ref). Augmented with interactive maps, more color photos, rare letters and documents, and newly added audio and video clips. The first full-fledged online encyclopedia dedicated to the history and culture of Eastern European Jewry.
Encyclopedia of the Founders and Builders of Israel = Entsiḳlopedyah le-ḥalutse ha-Yishuv u-vonaṿ
In Hebrew. A project of Touro College Libraries. David Tidhar's (1897-1970) monumental Encyclopedia is the only biographical source for many of the approximately 6,000 people included. As the first private detective in Israel, Tidhar was ideally suited to compile such a work, to which he dedicated the last decades of his life and has become a classic reference source for researchers, historians, as well as laymen. Also in print at 956.9 T439e, 4 volumes, Baker Aux Stacks.
Academic Jewish Studies Internet Directory
Rich gateway to resources for the study of Judaism, including access to library catalogs and to databases like "RAMBI - Index of Articles in Jewish Studies". From Institute for Jewish Studies, Düsseldorf University.
Bibliographies and Resource Lists
Annotated Bibliography of Antisemitism
Search engine for the The Felix Posen Bibliographic Project on Antisemitism of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem's Vidal Sassoon International Center for the Study of Antisemitism. Comprises an online database accessible through Israel's university library network (ALEPH), and printed bibliographies. The bibliography includes works published throughout the world about antisemitism--books, dissertations, master's theses, and articles from periodicals and collections.
Internetarchiv judischer Periodika
Scanned texts of the most important Jewish periodicals in German-speaking countries from 1806 to 1938
Website features thousands of databases, research tools and other resources to help those with Jewish ancestry research and find family members.
Modern Hebrew Literature: a Bio-Bibliographical Lexicon
Actively maintained A-Z list of modern literary authors publishing in Hebrew: birth dates, titles, and recent articles about them. Compiled by Joseph Galron-Goldschläger, Hebraica and Jewish Studies Librarian at Ohio State University.
Institute for the Translation of Hebrew Literature
With the aim of acquainting foreign readers with the best of modern Hebrew literature, the Institute commissions translations, acts as literary agent, underwrites translation projects, publishes the journal Modern Hebrew Literature and the annual Bibliography of Modern Hebrew Literature, represents Israeli authors at international book fairs, offers two Annual Translation Prizes, and publishes catalogs. Its website contain a list of close to three hundred Hebrew authors