Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- Southeast Asian Studies
- Encyclopedias, Handbooks and Dictionaries
Southeast Asian Studies: Encyclopedias, Handbooks and Dictionaries
A guide to resources and research on Southeast Asia
Encyclopedias
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text dictionaries, encyclopedias, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
- Empire OnlineDocuments and other primary sources dealing primarily with the British Empire
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
- This link opens in a new window
A broad collection of searchable encyclopedias and other reference sources, including The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology, The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health, and Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
(UW restricted) - Economist Intelligence UnitThe database of the Economist Intelligence Unit. It includes country reports covering economic and political conditions.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Info on cultures & ethnic groups - Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Major research tool for all topics relating to Islam; only 2nd & 3rd edition online, 1st edition print only
Language Dictionaries
- Taberd Nôm-Latin DictionaryDictionarium Anamitico Latinum published by the J.Marshnam printing house in 1884. Provided by the Vietnamese Nôm Preservation Foundation.
Directories
- The Asia Media DirectoryLists of media companies by country. 2009.
Handbooks
- Routledge HandbooksIncludes a variety of titles on Southeast Asian countries
Routledge Handbook of Southeast Asian Politics by
Now available in paperback, this Handbook provides a comprehensive analysis of the major themes that have defined the politics of Southeast Asia. It provides a comprehensive and cutting-edge examination of this important subject. The introductory chapter provides an overview of the theoretical and ideological themes that have dominated the study of the region's politics and presents the different ways the complex politics of the region have been understood. The contributions by leading scholars in the field cover a range of broad questions about the dynamics of politics. The Handbook analyses how the dominant political and social coalitions of the region were forged in the Cold War era, and assesses the complex processes of transition towards various forms of democratic politics. How institutions and systems of governance are being forged in an increasingly global environment is discussed and whether civil society in Southeast Asia has really evolved as an independent sphere of social and political activity. The Handbook examines how national governments are dealing with growing tensions within the region as matters such as labour, human rights and the environment spill beyond national boundaries, and how they are establishing a place in the new global framework. By engaging the Southeast Asian experience more firmly with larger debates about modern political systems, the Handbook is an essential reference tool for students and scholars of Political Science and Southeast Asian studies.
ISBN: 9780203155011Publication Date: 2012-03-12
The Routledge Handbook of Bioarchaeology in Southeast Asia and the Pacific Islands by
In recent years the bioarchaeology of Southeast Asia and the Pacific islands has seen enormous progress. This new and exciting research is synthesised, contextualised and expanded upon in The Routledge Handbook of Bioarchaeology in Southeast Asia and the Pacific Islands. The volume is divided into two broad sections, one dealing with mainland and island Southeast Asia, and a second section dealing with the Pacific islands. A multi-scalar approach is employed to the bio-social dimensions of Southeast Asia and the Pacific islands with contributions alternating between region and/or site specific scales of operation to the individual or personal scale. The more personal level of osteobiographies enriches the understanding of the lived experience in past communities. Including a number of contributions from sub-disciplinary approaches tangential to bioarchaeology the book provides a broad theoretical and methodological approach. Providing new information on the globally relevant topics of farming, population mobility, subsistence and health, no other volume provides such a range of coverage on these important themes.
ISBN: 9781138778184Publication Date: 2015-11-30
Routledge Handbook of Southeast Asian Democratization by
Southeast Asia, an economically dynamic and strategically vital region, seemed until recently to be transiting to more democratic politics. This progress has suddenly stalled or even gone into reverse, requiring that analysts seriously rethink their expectations and theorizing. The Routledge Handbook of Southeast Asian Democratization provides the first book-length account of the reasons for democracy's declining fortunes in the region today. Combining theory and case studies, it is structured in four major sections: Stunted Trajectories and Unhelpful Milieus Wavering Social Forces Uncertain Institutions Country cases and democratic guises This interdisciplinary reference work addresses topics including the impact of belief systems, historical records, regional and global contexts, civil society, ethnicity, women, Islam, and social media. The performance of political institutions is also assessed, and the volume offers a series of in-depth case studies, evaluating the country records of particular democratic, hybrid, and authoritarian regimes from a democratization perspective. Bringing together nearly 30 key international experts in the field, this cutting-edge Handbook offers a comprehensive and fresh investigation into democracy in the region This timely survey will be essential reading for scholars and students of Democratization and Asian Politics, as well as policymakers concerned with democracy's setbacks in Southeast Asia and the implications for the region's citizens.
ISBN: 9781317380061Publication Date: 2015-04-02
Routledge Handbook of Southeast Asian Economics by
The Routledge Handbook of Southeast Asian Economics offers new insights into the rapidly-developing economies of Southeast Asia. Despite widespread initial deprivation, Southeast Asia has achieved and sustained a remarkable rate of growth, in the course of which tens of millions have successfully escaped severe poverty. Though the economies of the region vary in many dimensions, integration into the wider East Asian network of production and trade is a notable common feature, one that continues a centuries-long history of engagement with global trade. A second striking feature is the pace and extent of transformation in the structure of production and in sources of household income in the region, which has undergone remarkably rapid industrialization and urban growth. However, the search for sustained and sustainable growth through and beyond middle-income continues to confront pressing economic and policy challenges. This Handbook offers a timely and comprehensive overview of Southeast Asian economic development. Organized according to the logic of chronological and thematic unity, it is structured in these sections: Growth and development over the long term Food, agriculture and natural resources Trade, investment and industrialization Population, labor, and human capital Poverty and political economy Twenty-first century challenges This original Handbook, written by experts in their fields, is unique in the breadth and depth of its coverage. Its forward-looking perspective renders it relevant both now and in the future. This advanced level reference work will be essential reading for students, researchers and scholars of Asian Studies, Economics and Southeast Asian studies.
ISBN: 9780415659949Publication Date: 2014-12-16
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Introductions to topics and critical surveys of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study. - Oxford Constitutions of the World (OCW) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
English-language versions of all the world's constitutions, with commentaries, foundation documents, historical versions, and amendments.