Psychology: Find Tests & Measurements

UW Libraries resources for research in and study of psychology.

Tests & Measurements

PsycTests This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
APA database for locating psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other instruments.
NOTE: Sometimes the full text of the instrument is available, and sometimes the full record tells you how to obtain a copy of the instrument.
* If there isn't a PDF copy of the instrument, click on the title to see the full PsycTests record.
* Then look for the section that addresses "permissions" and "commercial availability."
* You may need to contact the corresponding author, or you may find that a copy must be purchased.
* Please contact the psychology librarian for assistance.

Measurement Tools/Research Instruments Guide (UW Health Sciences Library)
Tips on finding measurement tools used by researchers and practitioners to aid in the assessment of research subjects, clients, or patients. Types of measurement tools include questionnaires, scales, indexes, surveys, interviews, and informal observations.
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Print resource. Available in multiple libraries; click on the title above to view locations.
Critical reviews of commercially published tests in English.
Tests in Print
Print resource. Available in multiple libraries. Click on the title above for locations.
Lists all known English-language tests available commercially. Provides information about the tests. Includes references to reviews in the Mental Measurements Yearbook series.

More library books on research instruments: e-books

Assessing Common Mental Health and Addiction Issues with Free-Access Instruments (2013) As healthcare costs rise, so too do the costs of assessment instruments, critical tools for mental health professionals. While some traditional assessment instruments have become prohibitively expensive, as with many other fields, the Internet offers a host of more affordable and equitable alternative assessment tools at little or no cost. The pitfall of this alternative, thus far, has been the lack of vetting and quality assessment. Assessing Common Mental Health and Addiction Issues With Free-Access Instruments fills this gap by providing the first analysis and assessment of these tools, provided by some of the leading names in mental health assessment instruments. This resource identifies the most efficient free access instruments and provides summary information about administration, scoring, interpretation, psychometric integrity, and strengths and weaknesses. The book is organized around the most common broad range issues encountered by helping professionals, and whenever possible, a link to the instrument itself is provided. This is an essential text for all mental health professionals looking to expand the scope and range of their assessment instruments.
Handbook of Psychological Assessment, 6th ed. (2016) Organized according to the sequence mental health professionals follow when conducting an assessment, Groth-Marnat's Handbook of Psychological Assessment, Sixth Edition covers principles of assessment, evaluation, referral, treatment planning, and report writing. Written in a practical, skills-based manner, the Sixth Edition provides guidance on the most efficient methods for selecting and administering tests, interpreting assessment data, how to integrate test scores and develop treatment plans as well as instruction on ways to write effective, client-oriented psychological reports. This text provides through coverage of the most commonly used assessment instruments including the Wechsler Intelligence Scales, Wechsler Memory Scales, Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory, Personality Assessment Inventory, Millon Clinical Multiaxial Inventory, NEO Personality, Rorschach, Thematic Apperception Test, and brief assessment instruments for treatment planning, monitoring, and outcome assessment.
PRACTICAL GUIDE TO CHILD AND ADOLESCENT PSYCHOLOGICAL TESTING
Psychological Assessment and Testing, 2nd ed. (2022) Expanding upon and updating the first edition, this comprehensive guide instructs readers on how to effectively conduct psychological assessment and testing in their practice, efficiently advancing a case from the initial referral and clinical interview, through the testing process, and leading to informed diagnosis and treatment recommendations. This second edition incorporates updated editions of all major tests, pertinent revisions from the DSM-5, more in-depth analysis of testing topics, and coverage of new constructs that are the targets of psychological testing relevant to outpatient mental health practice. Readers will learn about the fundamentals of assessment, testing, and psychological measurement, the complete process of psychological testing using a broad range of major tests, supplemented by interpretive flowcharts and case examples.. Downloadable practice and report forms, along with data tables with pre-drafted interpretive excerpts for all tests are also available for immediate use in clinical practice. Psychologists in both practice and training will come away with the tools and knowledge needed to successfully conduct psychological assessment and testing within the contemporary mental health field.
Technology and Testing (2015) From early answer sheets filled in with number 2 pencils, to tests administered by mainframe computers, to assessments wholly constructed by computers, it is clear that technology is changing the field of educational and psychological measurement. The numerous and rapid advances have immediate impact on test creators, assessment professionals, and those who implement and analyze assessments. This comprehensive new volume brings together leading experts on the issues posed by technological applications in testing, with chapters on game-based assessment, testing with simulations, video assessment, computerized test development, large-scale test delivery, model choice, validity, and error issues. Including an overview of existing literature and ground-breaking research, each chapter considers the technological, practical, and ethical considerations of this rapidly-changing area. Ideal for researchers and professionals in testing and assessment, Technology and Testing provides a critical and in-depth look at one of the most pressing topics in educational testing today. The Open Access version of this book, available at http://www.taylorfrancis.com, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license.

More library books - print books

Mastering Modern Psychological Testing, 2nd ed. (2021) This book provides a comprehensive introduction to psychological assessment and covers areas not typically addressed in existing test and measurements texts, such as neuropsychological assessment and the use of tests in forensics settings. The book introduces the vocabulary of the profession and the most basic mathematics of testing early as being fundamental to understanding the field. Numerous examples are drawn from tests that the authors have written or otherwise helped to develop, reflecting the authors' deep understanding of these tests and their familiarity with problems encountered in test development, use, and interpretation. Following the introduction of the basic areas of psychometrics, the book moves to areas of testing that represent various approaches to measuring different psychological constructs (memory, language, executive function, etc.), with emphasis on the complex issue of cultural bias in testing. Examples of existing tests are given throughout the book; however, this book is not designed to prepare students to go out and administer, score, and interpret specific psychological tests. Rather, the purpose of this book is to provide the foundational core of knowledge about tests, measurement, and assessment constructs, issues, and quantitative tools. Explains what constitutes a psychological test, how tests are developed, how they are best used, and how to evaluate their strengths and weaknesses; Describes areas of testing that represent different approaches to measuring different psychological constructs; Explains applications of psychological testing to issues in the courts; Addresses how test authors and publishers design and research tests to address the difficult and demanding issues of cultural differences in test performance and interpretation of test results.
Cognitive Assessment for Clinicians, 3rd ed. (2017) The third edition of the best-selling Cognitive Assessment for Clinicians provides readers with an up-to-date, practical guide to cognitive function and its assessment to ensure readers have a conceptual knowledge of normal psychological function and how to interpret their findings.Organized into 8 chapters, this resource offers a framework in which various aspects of cognition are considered. This includes the representation of cognition in the brain (such as attention and memory), focal representation (such as language, praxis and spatial abilities), detailed descriptions ofthe major syndromes encountered in clinical practice, and discussions on taking a patient's history and performing cognitive testing. To ensure readers are aware of the latest developments in patient assessment and neuropsychological practice all content has been carefully revised by John R. Hodgesto include essential updates on areas such as the pathology and genetics of frontotemporal dementia, and social cognition and major syndromes encountered in clinical practice such as delirium.This useful resource offers a theoretical basis for cognitive assessment at the bedside or in the clinic, and a practical guide to taking an appropriate history and examining patients presenting with cognitive disorders. This edition also includes the latest version of Addenbrooke's CognitiveExamination III (ACE-III), and 16 case histories on a variety of cognitive disorders illustrating the method of assessment and how to use the ACE-III in clinical practice. In addition, the appendix outlines the range of formal tests commonly used in neuropsychological practice.