Research Guides
Psychology: Find Articles
UW Libraries resources for research in and study of psychology.
Best Starting Points for Finding Psychology Articles
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowCore database for research and practice literature in psychology, including behavioral science, social science, and neuroscience. Includes abstracts for journal articles, books, book chapters, & dissertations.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowCore biomedical article database. Includes coverage of psychiatry, clinical psychology, cognitive science, and neuroscience - both animal and clinical studies.
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Assocation and a couple of other publishers.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowMultidisiciplinary database covering sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Citation tracking feature lets you follow a line of research through time or identify highly-cited articles.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowNursing and allied health literature. Good for intersections between psychology and health.
- Oxford Bibliographies: Psychology* A continuously updated annotated bibliography of the most important books, articles and online resources on a topic of study.
* Examples include Attraction in Close Relationships, Behavioral Economics, Bystander Effect, Competency to Stand Trial, Data Science Methods for Psychology, Empathy & Altruism, and Ethics in Psychology. - Oxford Research Encyclopedias: PsychologyOverview articles on topics in Clinical Psychology, Cognitive Psychology, Developmental Psychology, History & Systems of Psychology, Neuroscience, Organizational Psychology, Psychology Research Methods, Social Psychology, & Sports Psychology.
Additional Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles and general interest sources (magazine articles, news) in all fields.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUseful for exploring a topic across many disciplines and sources. See help for accessing articles from off-campus through Google Scholar. For thorough or discipline-specific searches, use research databases such as PsycInfo, PubMed, or Social Work Abstracts.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new windowArticles on social work, community development, and related topics.
- PTSDpubs This link opens in a new windowCitations to worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental health consequences of traumatic events
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text collection of scholarly journals and books in all disciplines. Some scholarly journals go back to the 1800s.
- ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowEducation-related literature, from pre-K through adult education. Good for educational psychology literature.