Psychology: Find Overviews

UW Libraries resources for research in and study of psychology.

Reference Databases

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Full text encyclopedias in a wide range of social science subjects and beyond.
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, annotated listing of the most important sources on social sciences subjects. Follow the link under Psychology.
SAGE Research Methods Online (SRM) This link opens in a new window
Articles, books, case studies, datasets, and video covering the practices of quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods research methodologies. Expanded trial access to additional modules ends June 30, 2025.

Open Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science
New collection of peer-reviewed articles introducing key topics on the study of the mind.
Michael C. Frank, Editor; Asifa Majid, Editor. MIT Press. 2024-
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology
Irving B. Weiner; W. Edward Craighead. 2010 Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley
The Dictionary of Psychology
Raymond J. Corsini, author. 2016 London, England ; New York : Routledge
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences
James D. Wright, editor. 2015 Amsterdam : Elsevier
The Encyclopedia of Clinical Psychology
Robin L. Cautin, editor.; Scott O. Lilienfeld, editor. 2015 Chichester, West Sussex ; Malden, MA : John Wiley and Sons, Inc.
Encyclopedia of the Mind
Harold E. Pashler, editor. 2013 Los Angeles : SAGE Reference
Cultural Sociology of Mental Illness: an A-Z Guide
Andrew Scull, 1946- editor. 2014 Thousand Oaks : SAGE Publications
APA Dictionary of Psychology
Gary R. VandenBos, editor. 2015 Washington, DC : American Psychological Association
The Encyclopedia of Positive Psychology
Shane J. Lopez. 2009 Chichester, U.K. ; Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell Pub.
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology
Yolanda Kaye Jackson, editor. 2006 Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Publications
Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior
Editors-in-chief, Michael D. Breed, Janice Moore. 2010 London ; Burlington, MA : Elsevier