Skip to Main Content
DataPlanet This link opens in a new window
Data-Planet offers researchers and students an intuitive interface to manipulate, visualize, and cite data from over 4.9 billion datasets. The datasets cover a broad array of subjects, including international education, health, population, and trade statistics.
Data-Planet Guides by Subject
Research guides on how to find international and United States statistical data using Data-Planet.
Just getting started wtih Data-Planet? Watch this quick tutorial on using Data-Planet by librarian Amanda Howell from the University of Wisconsin.
Other Starting Points
Foreign Information By Country
A research guide by the University of Colorado libraries with links to profiles, government information, articles & databases, and diplomatic relations for over 200 countries.
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
An INDEX with ABSTRACTS of statistical data sources. "Find statistics on population, economic conditions, labor, health, education, natural resources, pollution, and many other topics. [some FULL TEXT]
International Data Base
Hosted by the US Census Bureau. Find demographic indicators, population pyramids, country rankings, HIV/AIDS rates, and much more for countries of the world.
INTER. LABOUR ORG.: Global Reports
World of Work Report; Global Employment Trends; Global Wage Report; World Social Protection Report
IMF, International Financial Statistics (IFS)
"The IFS database contains approx. 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas and includes all series appearing on the IFS country pages; exchange rate series for all Fund member countries, plus Aruba and the Netherlands Antilles: major Fund account series; and most other world, area, and country series from the IFS World Tables." Note: Also held in CDROM and in Print
"Is an innovative new data service web site, still in Beta, that presents 160 of the most frequently requested Indicators and invites users to find, compare and share the latest OECD data in a variety of formats including charts, maps, tables and related publications. OECD Data indexes all datasets and related publications and directs interested users to the OECD-iLibrary to access the full content. OECD data is discoverable from the main www.oecd.org website under the topic “Statistics”. "
OECD Data Lab
OECD’s laboratory for data visualisations.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Full text access to many OECD books, reports, annuals, working papers, periodicals, and databases. Use for full text of publications and for statistics. [FULL TEXT] Video Help
United Nations Statistical Yearbooks
A reference book for statistical tables produced by international organisations. 1948-present.
UN Comtrade - UN Commodity Trade Statistics Database
The most comprehensive source for world trade data. Choose "database" to access the more than 1.75 billion trade records available. 1962-present
"Brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point."
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Internationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.
UNICEF, Statistics and Monitoring
UNICEF measures the situation of children and women and tracks progress through data collection and analysis. It maintains and updates global databases and promotes dissemination of evidence-based data for planning and advocacy.
UN SYSTEM STATISTICS
"CEB Secretariat [UN System, Chief Executives Bd. for Coordination] is mandated to collect statistics on behalf of its member organizations. Data collected each year go further to provide a picture of the UN system's human resources and financial and budgetary situation. Procurement statistics generated by the United Nations Office for Project Services (UNOPS) are also included."
WORLD BANK DATA CATALOG
"The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank datasets, include databases, pre-formatted tables and reports...."
"Provides time-series and cross sectional data relating to food and agriculture for some 200 countries." Click the appropriate link on the top of the the page. On the following page click on the link/s, upper left side to retrieve data. Data is not consistently available at any one time.
FEDERAL RESERVE ECONOMIC DATA (FRED)
237,000 US and international time series from 68 sources.
Has extensive U.S. and International data sources. It is Free
and the data is Downloadable. By the US Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis (Missouri, USA)
Source for European Union statistical datasets.
Additional Statistics Resources
Consortium of European Social Science Data Archives (CESSDA)
The major objective for CESSDA is to provide seamless access to data across repositories, nations, languages and research purposes....
A research guide by the UW Libraries. Primary source for the UW Community in finding and managing datasets created at the UW. Also provides help in finding data from external sources.
The main online database for DevInfo with global, regional, and country data sets.
Global Financial Data This link opens in a new window
A combination of private and public international data sources.
IPUMS Online Data Analysis System
IPUMS-International is an effort to inventory, preserve, harmonize, and disseminate census microdata from around the world. The project has collected the world's largest archive of publicly available census samples. The data are coded and documented consistently across countries and over time to facillitate comparative research. IPUMS-International makes these data available to qualified researchers free of charge through a web dissemination system.
Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
An international consortium of more than 700 academic institutions and research organizations, ICPSR provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
A non-governmental site that utilizes government data to explain and make value comparison over time and provide access to important economic aggregates, using both nominal and real measures.
New Economy Resources
A new guide that utilizes "the leading world wide web resources for discovering new knowledge and leveraging the latest reliable data on the New Economy."
Statistics Resources and Big Data
A comprehensive listing of statistics and big data resources and sites on the Internet.
...try using one these topic-specific pages: