Research Guides
International Inter-Governmental & Non-Governmental Organizations: United Nations
Introduction
- United Nations (UN) HomepageThe official UN website; use for information relating to any aspect of the UN.
The United Nations (UN) was founded after WWII by 51 countries "committed to maintaining international peace and security, developing friendly relations among nations and promoting social progress, better living standards and human rights." The UN's activities include:
- Peacekeeping
- Peacebuilding
- Conflict Prevention
- Humanitarian Assistance
The UN and its affiliated organizations are also involved in:
- Promoting human rights and gender equality and the advancement of women
- Protecting the environment
- Fighting disease--especially AIDS
- Reducing poverty
- Defining standards for safe and efficient air travel
- Improving telecommunications
- Enhancing consumer protections
- Campaigns agains drug trafficking and terrorism
- Assisting refugees
- Clearing landmines
- Expanding food production
- United Nations Research Guides"The UN Documentation Research Guide presents an overview of selected UN documents, publications, databases and websites. It provides details on the patterns of documentation of the active principal UN organs. It presents documentation of the organs and subsidiary bodies involved in areas of interest to many researchers."
- Alphabetical list of United Nations databases and reference worksA - Z list of the wide variety of information and documentation resources and databases made available by various entities across the United Nations System.
- UNDataSearch and download data from UN statistical databases. Useful features include country profiles, advanced searching, and glossaries. Databases are organized by theme (Crime, HIV/AIDS, Population, Tourism...).
- United Nations Statistical CommissionCompiles and disseminates global statistical information, develops standards and norms for statistical activities, and supports countries’ efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems, as well as facilitating the coordination of international statistical activities and supporting the functioning of the UN Statistical Commission as the apex entity of the global statistical system.
- United Nations Digital LibraryThe Digital Library provides access to UN-produced content including UN documents and publications and information about UN materials in our collections (metadata). More info about scope of the UNDL can be found here.
- United Nations iLibraryThe UN iLibrary is a database that provides a single digital destination for seamlessly accessing publications, journals, data, and series published by the United Nations Secretariat, and its funds and programs.
- Documents [UN]Broad based source for a wide variety of UN documents.
- Official Document System of the United Nations - ODSAll types of official born-digital UN documentation from 1993-present and some scanned documents published between 1946 and 1993. Includes Resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946-present. Press releases, sales publications, the United Nations Treaty Series or information brochures issued by the Department of Public Information are not available. [FULL TEXT]
- Dag Hammarskjöld LibraryThe official UN Library website; use for access to UN databases, Research Guides, and Documentation Research Guides.
- United Nations Statistical Yearbooks1948-present.
Additional Resources
- UN Archives GenevaThe UN Archives Geneva platform gives access to the fonds and collections managed by the United Nations Library and Archives in Geneva, including the archives of the United Nations in Geneva, the League of Nations (1919-1946), international peace movements (from 1870), and private papers.
- League of NationsA selection of digitized documents from the League of Nations, a precursor organization to the UN and the first worldwide intergovernmental organization.
- Demographic YearbookStatistics on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage and divorce on an annual basis. Special topics issues include economic activity, educational attainment, household characteristics, housing, ethnicity and language, among others. Collection from national statistical authorities from 1948-present.
- Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-GeneralInformation on treaty actions (signatures, ratifications, accessions, denunciations, miscellaneous notifications, reservations, declarations and objections) undertaken relating to the multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General covered up to April 1, 2009.
- UNESCO Institute for StatisticsA comprehensive collection of international data
in the fields of education, science and technology, culture and communication. - United Nations Chronicle, United NationsReports on issues including human rights, economic development, health, refugees, peacekeeping, regional issues, as well as programs and activities of the UN.
- Yearbook of the United NationsProvides a detailed overview of the UN's activities; fully indexed and includes all major General Assembly, Security Council and Economic and Social Council resolutions from 1945-2015. [FULL TEXT]
Print Sources
- Permanent Missions to the United NationsAug. 1954-Feb. 2019
- Statistical Yearbook (Annuaire Statistique)1948-1988/89
- UN Chronicle1975-2018
- United Nations document series symbolsAbove link covers 1946-1996, held in Gallagher Law Library collection.
Following items held in Suzzallo:
1978 edition
1986 edition - United Nations Handbook1988-present
United Nations Proceedings in Print
- Official Records of the General Assembly1946-present; includes records of meetings [including plenary meetings], annexes to those records, supplements, certain documents specifically identified as Official Records, the List of Delegations and the Check List of Documents
- Index to Proceedings: General Assembly1950/51-2010. Online PDFs available from 1946-2022.
- Index to Proceedings: Security Council1964-2010. Online PDFs available from Oct. 2011-present
- Index to Proceedings: Economic and Social Council1950-2010. Online PDFs available from 2011-present from UN iLibrary.
United Nations
Starting Points
Suggested links for background information on the UN, as well as links for beginning your UN related research.
- The United Nations at a GlanceIntroduction to the work and structure of the UN.
- United Nations Member StatesGrowth in United Nations membership, 1945-present.
- United Nations Documentation: Research GuideDefinitions and explanations of document symbols, official records, sales numbers, and sales publication categories.
- Documents [UN]Broad based source for a wide variety of UN documents.
- Online TutorialsTutorials include a document research overview, UN documents, UN resources, electronic resources, and a FAQ database.