Research Guides
International Inter-Governmental & Non-Governmental Organizations: Vital Statistics
Starting Points
Vital statistics: data relating to births, deaths, health and diseases, and marriages
- UNDataSearch and download data from UN statistical databases. Useful features include country profiles, advanced searching, and glossaries. Databases are organized by theme (populations, health, gender, education, etc.).
- UN Demographic YearbookFind statistics on topics like population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage and divorce. Statistics have been collected annually from national statistical authorities since 1948. 1948-present
- WHO: Data and StatisticsAccess to annual statistical publications (World Health Statistics) and databases. Find international, national, and regional data for global public health, chronic and infectious diseases, Data is also accessible by category, including mortality and health status, diseases, risk-factors, and health systems.
- World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
WDI Online is a comprehensive database on development data covering more than 575 indicators, 225 countries, and 18 regional and income groups. The extensive collection of development data includes population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators for more than forty years (starting in 1960 where data are available).
Additional Resources
- African Development IndicatorsScroll down to ADI and click on DATABANK. "The most detailed collection of data on Africa, containing over 1,600 indicators, covering 53 African countries and spanning the period 1961 to 2008. Data include social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, partnership, and environmental indicators. Data are drawn from World Development Indicators, and other sources.
more"
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to governmental and private statistical data.
- WHO: Global Health Observatory"Provides critical data and analysis for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database. The GHO presents data from all WHO programs and provides links to supporting information."
Print and CD Rom Sources
- Population and Vital Statistics Report (print only)Find data on population size (total, male, female), population estimates and the number and rate (births, deaths, infant deaths). 1949-present
- Vital Statistics of the United StatesReports present detailed vital statistics data, including natality, mortality, marriage and divorce.
Cemetery
Arlington National Cemetery in Virginia. Photo courtesy of Wikimedia Commons and Turelio.
Starting Points
- Foreign Information by CountryCreated by the Government Publications Library, U. of Colorado Libraries. Note: Some resources and information are only accessible by U of Colorado students/faculty.
- List of Foreign GovernmentsCreated by Northwestern University Library, Government Publications & Maps. Use this page to locate links to the official websites of national governments.
- Social Issues / Migration / Health -OECDUse the drop down menus (Statistics, Databases, Key Tables, Factbook) to find quick links to data and tables relating to vital statistics.
- Customized Statistical Tables - UNICEF"This statistical tool includes economic and social data from 195 countries and territories, with particular reference to children’s well-being. Users can choose their countries and indicators to build tables on the fly, or download the numbers into an Excel spreadsheet. These statistics are derived from UNICEF’s flagship publication, The State of the World’s Children."