Skip to Main Content
For the most current information on the status of Libraries operations, services and policies visit UW Libraries Operations Updates. Online resources and support are available 24/7
The Library of Congress Classification for most Gender, Women, and Sexuality Studies Sources, including encyclodpedias, is: HQ1-2044: The Family. Marriage. Women
Black Women in America
The second edition of Black Women in America, edited by Darlene Clark Hine, provides expanded coverage of the achievements and contributions of African American women.
Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence
The "Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence" is a modern reference from the leading international scholars in domestic violence research. This ground-breaking project has created the first ever publication of an encyclopedia of domestic violence.
Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Popular Culture
The Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Popular Culture identifies the people, films, TV shows, literature, and sports figures that have made significant contributions to both gay and lesbian popular culture, and American popular culture.
Encyclopedia of Human Rights
"This encyclopedia offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history. This extraordinary work provides situation profiles and full coverage of the development of the movement, historical cases of abuse, the key figures, major organizations, and a range of other issues in economics, government, religion, and journalism that touch on human rights theory and practice."
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America.
A three-volume survey of more than 400 years of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States, presented through over 500 alphabetically arranged entries. Coverage includes people, public policy, economics, social issues, identities, and culture, among many others. For students, researchers, and general readers.
Encyclopedia of Sex & Gender
4-volume set is part of the Macmillan Social Science Library, vended by the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Encyclopedia of sex and gender : men and women in the world's cultures
Gives a comparative perspective on issues involving conceptions of gender, gender differences, gender roles, relationships between the genders, and sexuality.
Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures
Focuses on women and the civilizations and societies in which Islam has played a historic role. Surveys all facets of life (society, economy, politics, religion, the arts, popular culture, sports, health, science, medicine, environment, and so forth) of women in these societies.
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Events, 1848-2006
This encyclopedia, edited by Lillian Faderman as part of the Great Events from History series, gives insight into selected events significant to GLBT history.
LGBTQ Americans in the U.S. political system : an encyclopedia of activists, voters, candidates, and officeholders
Covers individuals, organizations, cultural forces, political issues, and legal decisions that have elevated the role of LGBTQ people at the ballot box, on the campaign trail, in Washington, and in mayors' offices, city councils, and school boards across the country.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History, edited by Bonnie G. Smith, captures the experiences of women throughout history in a far-reaching, four-volume work.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies
This encyclopedia focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist and ecological perspectives on the topic.
Women's Lives around the World: A Global Encyclopedia
Covers "education of girls and teens; the key roles women play in their families, careers, religions, and cultures; how issues for women intersect with colonialism, transnationalism, feminism, and norms of power and control."
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
Publication Date: 2007-08-23
Addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation. Topics include changing conceptions of "the feminine," the family and masculinity, religion, morality, cultural images, medical practice, public health, economy and society and many more.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies by
Publication Date: 2016-06-02
This far-reaching and contemporary new Encyclopedia examines and explores the lives and experiences of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) individuals, focusing on the contexts and forces that shape their lives. The work focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist and ecological perspectives on the topic, and addresses questions such as: · What are the key theories used to understand variations in sexual orientation and gender identity? · How do Gay-Straight Alliances (GSA) affect LGBTQ youth? · How do LGBTQ people experience the transition to parenthood? · How does sexual orientation intersect with other key social locations, such as race, to shape experience and identity? · What are the effects of marriage equality on sexual minority individuals and couples? Top researchers and clinicians contribute to the 400 signed entries, from fields such as: · Psychology · Human Development · Gender/Queer Studies · Sexuality Studies · Social Work · Sociology The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies is an essential resource for researchers interested in an interdisciplinary perspective on LGBTQ lives and issues.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society by
Publication Date: 2008-11-26
A comprehensive, two-volume encyclopedia covering the major theories, research, people and issues in contemporary gender studies. The work will be distinguished by a cross-national cross-cultural perspective providing comparative analyses of life experiences of men and women around the world.
Finding GWSS Reference Sources
Reference works, such as encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries, are great starting points for research and finding background on any subject. A few tips for finding reference sources:
- Search for your broad topic in UW Libraries Search and add the term "encyclopedias". For example: sexuality AND encyclopedias
- See our research guides for reference sources in your subject area.
- Ask us!