Puget Sounds Honors Seminar (Spring 2012): wk 2

M 4/2

Guest Speaker: Laurel Sercombe, Archivist at the UW Ethnomusicology Archives.

Due: Come prepared to discuss the following…

Contact to Jackson Street Jazz...

• Sercombe, Laurel. 2003. "Researching the Music of the First People of the Pacific Northwest: From the Academy to the Brain Room". Fontes Artis Musicae. 50 (2/4): 81-8. 
• Armbruster, Kurt E. 2011. Before Seattle rocked: a city and its music. Seattle: University of Washington Press: pp. 3-31. (eres)
• Blecha, Peter. 2005. “Song-Catchers: Documenting the Music of Northwest Indians.” http://www.historylink.org/index.cfm?DisplayPage=output.cfm&file_id=7565
• De Barros, Paul, and Eduardo Calderón. 1993. Jackson Street after hours: the roots of jazz in Seattle. Seattle: Sasquatch Books: pp. 1-35. (eres)
• Faltys-Burr, Kaegan. 2009. "Jazz on Jackson Street:The Birth of a Multiracial Musical Community in Seattle." http://depts.washington.edu/depress/jazz_jackson_street_seattle.shtml
• Tate, Cassandra. 2001. 'Rhythm & Roots: Birth of Seattle's First Sound." http://www.historylink.org/index.cfm?DisplayPage=output.cfm&File_Id=3641

Additional, but not required...

• Blecha, Peter. 2006. "Fanning the Flames: Northwest Labor Song Traditions." http://www.historylink.org/index.cfm?DisplayPage=output.cfm&file_id=7575
• Blecha, Peter. 2009. Sonic boom: the history of Northwest rock, from "Louie Louie" to "Smells like teen spirit". New York: Backbeat Books: pp. 7-13.
• Sercombe, Laurel. 2009. "The story of Dirty Face : power and song in western Washington Coast Salish myth narratives." In Browner, Tara. 2009. Music of the first nations: tradition and innovation in native North America. Urbana: University of Illinois Press. http://alliance-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/primo_library/libweb/action/search.do?fn=search&vid=UW&vl%28freeText0%29=237325182

W 4/4

Due: Come prepared to discuss the following…

Archival Overview...

• "Archives and the Future." In Archives for the Future: Global Perspectives on Audiovisual Archives in the 21st Century (2004): http://seagullindia.com/archive/chapter01.pdf
• Steedman, Carolyn. 2001. Dust. Manchester: Manchester University Press: pp. 1-16. (eres)
• Miller, Fredric. 1990. Arranging and describing archives and manuscripts. Chicago: Society of American Archivists: pp. 19-30. (eres)
• Daniels, Maygene. 1984. "Introduction to Archival Terminology." www.archives.gov/research/alic/reference/archives-resources/terminology.html
• Spiro, Lisa. 2009. Archival management software a report for the Council on Library and Information Resources. Washington, DC: Council on Library and Information Resources: pp. 38- 41 (Appendix 1). http://alliance-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/primo_library/libweb/action/search.do?fn=search&vid=UW&vl%28freeText0%29=301600809

Additional, but not required...

• Derrida, Jacques. 1995. “Archive Fever: A Freudian Impression.” In Diacritics, Vol. 25, No. 2, translated by Eric Prenowitz: pp. 9-63. http://alliance-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/primo_library/libweb/action/search.do?fn=search&vid=UW&vl%28freeText0%29=208630333
• WATCH - Blackwood, Michael, Hannah Arendt, and Walter Benjamin. 2008. Hannah Arendt on Walter Benjamin. New York, NY: Michael Blackwood Productions. (eres)

Activity: Bert Porter archiving triage.