Puget Sounds Honors Seminar (Spring 2012): wk 7

M 5/7

Guest Speaker: Jim Anderson

Due: Go experience the Crocodile Cafe Collection and be prepared to discuss the following...

Indie Rock 2000s

• "Crocodile Cafe Collection" thread at the Harvey Danger fan site: http://www.harveydanger.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=3791&highlight=crocodile+cafe+collection
• Vallier, John. “Fear & Control in a Rock n' Rollibrary.” Presented at the Music Library Association Annual Meeting. Philadelphia, PA. February 10, 2011. (eres)
• Radford, Gary P., and Marie L. Radford. 2001. "Libraries, Librarians, and the Discourse of Fear". Library Quarterly. 71 (3): 299-329.
• Strinati, Dominic. 1995. An introduction to theories of popular culture. London: Routledge: pp. 64-69. (eres)

Additional, but not required...

• WATCH Danielson, Nora. 2004. Red house. [Olympia, WA]: Home Video Productions. (eres)
• McClary, Susan. 1989. "Constructions of Gender in Monteverdi's Dramatic Music". Cambridge Opera Journal. 1 (3): 203-223: http://search.lib.uw.edu.offcampus.lib.washington.edu/oclc/481528912

W 5/9

Guest Speaker: Bob Nelson

Due: Come prepared to discuss the following...

Archival Preservation:

• Michèle Valerie Cloonan. 2001. "W(H)ITHER Preservation?" The Library Quarterly. 71 (2): 231-242; http://search.lib.uw.edu.offcampus.lib.washington.edu/oclc/481287702
• Schüller, Dietrich. “Technology for the Future,” in Archives for the Future: Global Perspectives on Audiovisual Archives in the 21st Century (2004): http://www.seagullindia.com/archive/archive.pdf
• Nadal, Jacob. 2012. "Digital Preservation: Audio and Video Formats." http://infopeople.org/training/audio-and-video-formats
• Gibbs, John. "Audio Preservation/Restoration Guide." http://guides.lib.uw.edu/research/AudioPreservation

Additional, but not required...

• Council on Library and Information Resources and the Library of Congress. “Capturing Analog Sound for Digital Preservation: Report of a Roundtable Discussion of Best Practices for Transferring Analog Discs and Tapes” - http://www.clir.org.offcampus.lib.washington.edu/pubs/reports/pub137/pub137.pdf
• Casey, Mike, and Bruce Gordon. 2007. Sound directions best practices for audio preservation. [Bloomington]: Indiana University.
• IASA Technical Committee. “Key Digital Principles,” in Guidelines on the Production and Preservation of Digital Audio Objects (TC-04, 2nd edition, 2009): http://www.iasa-web.org/category/tags/publications/tc-04
• WATCH Gitt, Robert. 2007. A century of sound the history of sound in motion pictures. [California]: Regents of the University of California and The Rick Chace Foundation.
• Allen, Erin. 2012. "Unlocking Sounds of the Past."

Technology of the day: ProTools and digitization of analog tape.

The Crocodile Café Collection has 3,000+ hours of unique music, recorded between 2002 and 2007 by Jim Anderson. Click here to learn more.