Computing & Software Systems (CSS): Articles & E-Journals

Research Guide for Computer Systems & Software

Good Starting Points for CSS Research

Use these databases to find citations (and sometimes full text) to articles and other materials. These are specialized databases for technology related resources.

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Association of Computing Machinery journals, magazines, and conference proceedings.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE publications and standards in engineering, computer science, and related fields.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publications in physics, engineering, communications, computer science, information technology, and related fields.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
See help for accessing articles from off-campus through Google Scholar.

E-Journals

E-Journals (Computer Science)
Selected Computer Science e-journals available to University of Washington students, faculty, staff, and affiliates.

E-Journals (Information Technology)
Selected Information Technology e-journals available to University of Washington students, faculty, staff, and affiliates.

More CSS related Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and general interest sources in all fields.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature reviews in the biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.

arXiv.org
arXiv (pronounced archive) is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,685,599 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
ASTM Standards and engineering digital library
- This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Magazines, newspapers and journals in all business disciplines.

CiteSeer Scientific Literature Digital Library
- This link opens in a new window
A scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
Compendex
- This link opens in a new window
Index to research literature in all areas of engineering.
Computing Research Repository
- This link opens in a new window
Online repository of papers sponsered by ACM, the arXiv.org e-Print archive, NCSTRL (Networked Computer Science and Technical Reference Library), and AAAI (Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence.

Gartner This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research and analysis on technology management issues and trends.

Microsoft Academic Search (beta)
With a current focus on computer and information science materials, use this search engine to find scientific papers, conferences, journals, and authors, connecting millions of scholars, students, librarians, and other users.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from Elsevier journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.

Scitopia
- This link opens in a new window
Search for research papers from over 20 leading science and technology societies.
SpringerLink
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to most of Springer's journals and book series in the sciences, medicine, and engineering.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citation index for the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

More Article & Research Databases
Links to hundreds of UW Restricted databases in all subject areas.

Compendex This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive and interdisciplinary coverage of the world's literature in every field of engineering, 1884 - present.

Background Information

These reference tools will help you to build a solid base of background knowledge about your topic. Please note: you will not find any scholarly/peer reviewed resources using these tools!

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reports, summaries, and pro/con views on a range of current issues,1923-present.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text encyclopedias in all subject areas
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text dictionaries, encyclopedias, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
Sage Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias and handbooks on many subjects.

Is my journal article peer reviewed or refereed?

Search for your journal title (NOT article title) below, in Ulrichsweb.

If you see a little referee shirt icon - - or the journal's record indicates it is refereed, it's likely (but not guaranteed) your article has been peer reviewed.

Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ulrich's directory to 300,000+ journals and other serials.

More tips for identifying scholarly sources

Most articles published in peer reviewed journals are peer reviewed, with a few exceptions. Book reviews, editorials, and letters to the editor are not peer reviewed.

If you are unsure about whether something you've found is peer reviewed, ask your librarian!

Search Google Scholar

How do I use Google Scholar to search for UW materials?

Connecting Google Scholar to UW Libraries
Connect your UW Library privileges to the articles you find on Google Scholar--find out how here!