Queer (LGBTQ+) Studies: Zines

Zines and Zine Resources!

Stolen Sharpie Revolution 2
ISBN: 9780981794105
Publication Date: 2008-07-01
A brief, but engaging, and eminently useful guide to doing a zine. From tools to layout, copying, printing, trading, promotion, ordering, mailing, distribution, and a whole lot more.
Make a Zine! : When words and graphics collide by Bill Brent; Joe Biel In Microcosm's DIY guide to zine-making, editors Bill Brent, Joe Biel, and a cast of contributors take you from the dreaming and scheming stages onto printing, publication and beyond! Covering all the bases for beginners, Make a Zine! hits on more advanced topics like Creative Commons licenses, legality, and sustainability.
ISBN: 9781621062691
Publication Date: 2014-11-29

Types of Zines

Zines cover a wide range of topics and include many different genres. Some of the most common types of zines include:

Art zines: Contain artwork, photographs, collages, and artwork created by the author. Considered art in itself.
Compilation zines: Created in collaboration with others. Usually, a topic is decided, then a call goes out asking for submissions.
DIY zines: Teach and inspire readers to do-it-yourself, kind of like a manual.
Fanzines: Share information about something you love or about a specific fandom.
Literary zines: Include a self-published collection of fiction, essays, and/or poetry.
Mini comics: Feature creator-made comics that are self-published, not necessarily small in size.
Personal zines (aka "perzines"): Focus on the author's life, opinions, and thoughts.
Political zines: Deal with politics, social justice, historical movements, and contemporary issues.

There are no strict rules for the types of zines you can make. Be creative and express yourself in whatever way works best for you!

Zines and Zine Culture

Finding Zines in UW Libraries Search

Zines in UW Libraries Search

Find zines by searching by Form/Genre

Form refers to what an object is whereas genre refers to what an object is about.

Definitions:

"Zines" captures small-circulation, self-published works
"Emergent Journals" captures self-published or professionally published works that may or may not have follow-up issues
"Books" captures what you'd typically think of when you think of a book
"Comics" captures graphic novels and comic strips in all forms
"Books & Comics" also includes artists' books

Online Zine Libraries

ZAPP Zine Collection - Seattle Public Library
The Zine Archive & Publishing Project (ZAPP) was dedicated to preserving and promoting self-publishing in Seattle and beyond. ZAPP collected more than 30,000 zines, minicomics and other self-published and small press titles, which were donated to us by Richard Hugo House. The collection is for in-Library use only.
Zines at the Library of Congress
The Library of Congress has a growing collection of zines. Additionally, the Library has hosted a Zine-Making Workshop at the National Book Festival annually since 2017. In general, zines are: self-published, self-created, self-distributed, and non-commercial. Zines resist formal definition, so the best way to get acquainted with the format is to start reading or making zines yourself. This guide will provide resources on how to do both!
Zines at Barnard College
Barnard's zines reflect the Barnard College student population. We have zines by women, nonbinary people, and trans men, with a collection emphasis on zines by women of color and a newer effort to acquire more zines by trans women. We collect zines on feminism and femme identity by people of all genders. The zines are personal and political publications on activism, anarchism, body image, gender, parenting, queer community, riot grrrl, sexual assault, trans feminisms, and other topics.
Zine Libraries - A global list from Barnard College
A list of zine libraries around the world!
Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP)
The Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) was first launched in November 2003 in an effort to preserve queer zines and make them available to other queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities.