Environment: Background Information

Online Reference Sources

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text encyclopedias in all subject areas

Alternative Energy
- This link opens in a new window
Explores issues surrounding both current energy sources and alternative energy options.
Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America
- This link opens in a new window
Presents extensive data on the habitats and ecosystems of more than 1,200 species identified as endangered or threatened by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife service.
Encyclopedia of Earth
An electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society.
Encyclopedia of Life
The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) is a global partnership between the scientific community and the general public and whose goal is to make freely available to anyone knowledge about all the world’s organisms.
Encyclopedia of Sustainability
- This link opens in a new window
Spans the entire scope of sustainability from ecological concepts to financial concerns to public policy and community action.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable online zoology encyclopedia.
IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
Provides taxonomic, conservation status and distribution information on plants and animals.
Pollution A to Z
- This link opens in a new window
Provides information on a variety of pollution issues, including sources of pollution; disposal; remediation; and the ethical, social and legal environment, as well as topics such as acid rain, cancer, noise pollution and zero growth population.
Water: Science and Issues
- This link opens in a new window
Covers important water science concepts and current issues and highlights major historical developments.

Environment: Background Information

Online Reference Sources

Chat with a UW Librarian