Open Media Resources: Find Music & Sound Effects

Open Media Resources

CC Music News

ccMixter
Remixes and samples for creating your own remixes licensed by Creative Commons.

These sites provide access to public domain or creative commons licensed music.

OpSound
Web site where musicians and sound artists upload their work under Creative Commons licenses.
Jamendo Creative Commons Search
The largest catalog of music under Creative Commons license with more than 25,000 albums. Includes rock, pop, jazz, hip-hop and dance tracks.
Audionautix
Music composed and recorded by Jason Shaw and licensed under Creative Commons for use in audio visual projects.
Free Music Archive
The Free Music Archive is an interactive library of high-quality, legal audio downloads. Compiled and managed by WFMU Radio.
Internet Archive Live Music Archive
All music in this Collection is from trade-friendly artists and is strictly non-commercial, both for access here and for any further distribution. This collection is maintained by the etree.org community.
Open Source Audio
A collection housed at the internet archive of user-contributed music. All music is released under Creative Commons licenses.
Free-Loops.com
Free-Loops.com provides free loops and audio clip downloads to the music production community.
Incompetech
Kevin MacLeod is a professional composer who creates royalty-free music that can be found on his site, incompetech.com.

These sites provide access to public domain or creative commons licensed sound effects.

Partners in Rhyme: Sound Effects
Collection of free sounds effects and web links to other online collections. Also includes royalty free tracks for purchase.
Freesound.org
The Freesound Project aims to create a huge collaborative database of audio snippets, samples, recordings, bleeps and more released under the Creative Commons Sampling Plus License.