Anthropology 205 : Biological Anthropology: Find Background References

Online Resources

Use the reference sources on this page to explore different world cultures. The Encyclopedia of World Cultures (available online and in print) is a good place to start!

Countries and Their Cultures [UW restricted]
Surveys countries' shared values, behaviors and cultural variations from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts, using a standard entry format for easy comparison.
Encyclopedia of Anthropology [UW restricted]
An encyclopedia with over 1000 entries that focus on topics in physical/ biological anthropology, archaeology, cultural/social anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology.
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology [UW restricted]
Encyclopedia of health and illness in the world’s cultures.
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology [UW restricted]
An interdisciplinary view of anthropology
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (Second Edition) [UW restricted]
Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields including anthropology.
Encyclopedia of World Cultures [UW restricted]
The source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.
Dictionary of Anthropology [UW restricted]
125 anthropologists contributed to provide both historical and contemporary definitions of anthropological terms. Includes more than 500 entries, including 42 biographies.

Print Resources

You can also find background information in print reference books in the Campus Library. For example,

Encyclopedia of Bioethics Call number:QH332 .E52 2004 1st Floor Reference

Anthropology 205 : Biological Anthropology: Find Background References

Online Resources

Print Resources

Chat with a UW Librarian