Skip to Main Content
Campus Library Logo

Religion: Background Information

Online Reference Sources

These sources offer great background information about religion, in addition to definitions of religious terms:

General Religion

NOTE: This is just a small selection of our reference books on religion. Try browsing the reference shelves in these call numbers for more. Also, try these same call numbers up in the stacks (3rd floor) for more books on your topic.

Dictionary of Philosophy and Religion : Eastern and Western thought
B41 .R43 1999

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy   B51 .R68 1998

Satanism Today : An Encyclopedia of Religion, Folklore, and Popular Culture   BF1548 .L49 2001

Larousse Dictionary of Beliefs and Religions    BL31 .D53 1994

The Wilson Chronology of the World's Religions   BL80.2 .L464 2000

Key words in religious studies   BL82 .G43 2006

Science, religion, and society : an encyclopedia of history, culture, and controversy   BL240.3 .S37 2007

The Facts on File encyclopedia of world mythology and legend  
BL303 .M45 2009

Encyclopedia of Modern Separatist Movements    HM716 .H48 2000

Religious Texts

The Talmud = [Talmud Bavli] : the Steinsaltz edition  BM499.5 .E4 1989

The Holy Quran with English translation and commentary  BP130.4 .K6713 1988

The Holy Bible : New International Version (containing Old and New Testaments)  BS195 .N37 1978

Regions, Cultures and Religion

NOTE: This is just a small selection of our reference books on religion. Try browsing the reference shelves in these call numbers for more. Also, try these same call numbers up in the stacks (3rd floor) for more books on your topic.

Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy   B121 .E53 2001

Encyclopedia of Chinese Philosophy   B126 .E496 2003

Encyclopedia of Hinduism   BL1105 .J56 2007

Encyclopedia of American Women and Religion   BL2525 .B45 1998

Encyclopedia of the American Religious Experience   BL2525 .E53 1988

American Religions: an illustrated history   BL2525 .M47 2000

Encyclopedia of American Religious History   BL2525 .Q44 2001

Religion and American Cultures : an encyclopedia of traditions, diversity, and popular expressions   BL2525 .R448 2003

The New Encyclopedia of Judaism   BM50 .E63 2002

Historical Dictionary of Islam   BP50 .A33 2001

Oxford Companion to Christian Thought   BR95 .O94 2000

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World   DS35.53 .O95 2001

Encyclopedia of Native American Religions   E98.R3 H73 1992