Open Educational Resources Guide: OER Directory: Textbooks and More

This page provides starting points for accessing OER collections of open content including: textbooks and courseware, assignments and assessments, images, video and audio. In addition to the resources listed below, check out:

The expansive OER Repository compiled by Open Washington's Open Educational Resources Network.
The Mason OER Metafinder (MOM) - a real-time federated search of OER content.

Want help finding what you need? Contact OER Services Librarian, Myra Waddell (myraw@uw.edu) for assistance.

Open Textbooks

Pressbooks
Catalog of over 6,000 open access books.
B.C. Campus Open Collection
OER textbooks and materials spanning a wide variety of subject areas.
LibreTexts
Library of 4000+ OER textbooks curated by the LibreTexts community.
Open Book Publishers
OER Textbooks on a wide variety of academic disciplines.
OpenStax
OER textbook collection managed by Rice University.
Open Textbook Library
"Now offering 1459 open textbooks, the Open Textbook Library is supported by the Open Education Network." From University of Minnesota.

"Free the textbook" by Libby Levi, opensource.com is licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0

Open Images

Open Images research guide
Created by UWB/CC Librarian Laura Dimmit Smyth.
Creative Commons
Search engine for Creative Commons licensed images and media.
Flickr CC Collection
Images provided by Flickr that carry a Creative Commons license.
Getty Search Gateway
Open content from across Getty's collections.
Library of Congress: Free to Use and Reuse Sets
Digital images from the Library of Congress that are within the public domain, have no known copyright, or have been cleared by the copyright owner for public use.
Noun Project
Open digital icon collection.

Open Course Materials

Merlot
Curated online learning materials and content creation materials.
MIT OpenCourseWare
Open courses, open course ware, and open teaching materials from MIT.
MyOpenMath
Open math textbooks and self study courses.
OASIS
A search tool for finding open content: textbooks, courses and course modules, audiobooks, videos and more.
OER Commons
A public digital library of open educational resources.
OpenMichigan
Access to open course materials, videos, lectures, student work and more.

Open Video & Audio

ccMixer
Remixes and samples for creating your own remixes licensed by Creative Commons.
Jamendo Creative Commons Search
The largest catalog of music under Creative Commons license with more than 25,000 albums. Includes rock, pop, jazz, hip-hop and dance tracks.
Open Source Audio
A collection housed at the internet archive of user-contributed music. All music is released under Creative Commons licenses.
Open Video Project
A shared digital video collection managed by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Vimeo: Creative Commons Collection
Millions of videos licensed with Creative Commons.
YouTube
Filter videos to "Creative Commons" and double check the license setting for the video. Also make sure to check for unauthorized content such as a copy of a TV show.