Physics: Websites

Find recommended resources for beginning your research in Physics, including databases, electronic journals, and websites.

Physics Help

PhET Interactive Simulations - physics
PhET provides fun, interactive, research-based simulations of physical phenomena for free.
The Physics Classroom
Online physics tutorial written for high school physics students. Covers forces, motion and optics, waves and electricity. Includes animations and other learning tools.
Physics for Engineers and Scientists - Online Concept Tutorials
Features interactive animations that reinforce conceptual understanding and develop students’ quantitative skills.
Flash Animations for Physics
Animations were written by David M. Harrison, Dept. of Physics, Univ. of Toronto to help people visualise a specific topic of Physics.
Physics To Go: browse by subject
Physics to Go is a collection of websites where you can learn physics on your own, through games, webcasts, and online articles, exhibits, and activities.
MERLOT II: Physics
MERLOT is a browsable or searchable collection of over 40,000 materials in 19 different material type categories. Use the "Refine Your Search" section on the left to limit by Categories and then Material Types.
ComPADRE Digital Library
"Network of free online resource collections supporting faculty, students, and teachers in Physics and Astronomy Education."
APlus Physics
Designed to help high school physics students and beginning college physics students succeed, APlusPhysics is a free online physics resource that focuses on problem solving, understanding, and real-world applications.
MIT's Open Courseware (OCW)
Free online course materials in physics from MIT.
Khan Academy
Video tutorials about a range of physics topics (as well as maths, chemistry and more) suitable for secondary school level students.
DMOZ Open Directory Project: Physics Tutorials
Directory of physics-related tutorials.

Organizations & Institutes

American Astronomical Society
The American Astronomical Society (AAS) is the professional organization of astronomers in North America. The organization seeks to advance and share humanity's scientific understanding of the Universe.
American Institute of Physics (AIP)
Federation of physical science societies. Provides leadership through programs and publications.
American Physical Society (APS)
"Non-profit membership organization working to advance and diffuse the knowledge of physics through its outstanding research journals, scientific meetings, and education, outreach, advocacy and international activities."
European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN)
One of the world’s largest and most respected centers for scientific research, focusing on fundamental physics.
Institute of Physics (IOP)
Scientific society promoting physics and bringing physicists together for the benefit of all.
Minorities in Physics
APS is works to increase recruitment and retention of African American, Hispanic American, and Native American physicists.
Physical Measurement Laboratory (PML)
One of the major operating units of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).
U.S. Department of Energy
Women in Physics
This organization works to support the recruitment, retention, and career development of women physicists at all levels.

Physics Reference

Albert Einstein Archives
Online access to Albert Einstein’s scientific and non-scientific manuscripts held by the Albert Einstein Archives at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. It also enables access to the Einstein Archive Database, a comprehensive source of information on all items in the Albert Einstein Archives.

Freely available online sources for reference information in physics. For more reference sources, view the UW-restricted reference eBooks listed on the "Books & eBooks" tab, or visit the Physics & Astronomy Reading Room's list of physics websites.

Computer Index of Nuclear Reaction Data (CINDA)
By the International Atomic Energy Agency. CINDA contains bibliographic references to measurements, calculations, reviews, and evaluations of neutron cross-sections and other microscopic neutron data; it also includes index references to computer libraries of numerical neutron data available from four regional neutron data centers.
Contributions of 20th Century Women to Physics
Biographies of 83 women who made substantial contributions to the field of physics. Site last updated in 2003.
Encyclopedia of Astronomy & Astrophysics
Ignore login! Online collection of over 2,750 full-text articles.
Eric Weisstein's World of Physics
Online encyclopedia maintained by Eric Weisstein, Internet encyclopedist.
Handbook of mathematical functions with formulas, graphs, and mathematical tables (Abramowitz and Stegun, eds.)
This online book is a compendium of mathematical formulas, tables, and graphs. Part of the National Bureau of Standards Applied Mathematics Series. Published in 1964.
IAEA Nuclear Data Services
To develop and disseminate atomic and nuclear data for applications. From the Nuclear Data Section of the International Atomic Energy Agency.
The Laws List
List of various laws, rules, principles, and other related topics in physics and astronomy.
Martindales' Calculators On-line Center: Physics Center, etc.
Collection of online reference sources related to physics.
The Net Advance of Physics
Review articles and tutorials. Maintained by MIT's Laboratory for Nuclear Science.
NIST Reference on Constants, Units, and Uncertainty
CODATA internationally recommended values of the fundamental physical constants.
Nobel Laureates in Physics
Maintained by the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center Library.
Nobel Prize
From the Nobel Foundation.
Numerical Recipes in C, Fortran 77, and Fortran 90
Scanned second editions available as PDF downloads.
Online Particle Physics Information
Resources for particle physics. Compiled by the Particle Data Group and the SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory.
Online resources for the history of physics & allied fields
AIP's directory of online resources for researching the history of physics.
Periodic Table of the Elements
From Chemicool, an information site about chemistry.
Physical Reference Data
From the NIST Physical Measurement Laboratory.
Physics and Astronomy Classification Scheme (PACS)
"An internationally adopted, hierarchical subject classification scheme, designed by the American Institute of Physics (AIP) to classify and categorize the literature of physics and astronomy."
Physics Central
American Physical Society site to communicate research in and importance of physics to the general public.
Physics Formulary
Equations in physics.
Physicsworld.com
Institute of Physics site for news and information for the global physics community.
The Review of Particle Physics
Particle listings, summaries, and reviews. From the Particle Data Group.