Engineering: Articles

Databases for Articles & More

Use these databases to find citations (and sometimes full text) for articles and other materials. These are specialized databases for engineering- and technology-related resources. Here is a more comprehensive list of STEM databases.

AccessEngineering
Reference and teaching platform featuring interdisciplinary engineering content integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools.
ACM Digital Library
Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) journals, e-books, magazines, and conference proceedings-- including filters for full-text items.
Compendex
Includes chemical and process engineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, civil, mechanical, and materials engineering. Coverage is from 1884 to present.
Engineering Village
Engineering Village is a platform that enables in-depth search and discovery of both current, archival and interdisciplinary content comprising research and technical information in the applied engineering and physical science domains. It hosts both the Compendex and INSPEC databases, in which content from global publishers is indexed from journals, conference proceedings, trade publication, dissertations, standards, books, patents and technical reports.
IEEE Xplore
IEEE publications and standards in engineering, computer science, and related fields.
INSPEC
Physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computer science and engineering; also covers many areas of the physical and applied sciences, as well as information technology and control engineering. Covers 1896 to the present.
JSTOR Sustainability
Discover a wide range of journals, ebooks, and research reports in the field of sustainability. The subjects of resilience and sustainability are explored broadly, covering research on environmental stresses and their impact on society.
Knovel
Knovel is an extensive, searchable online library of full-text content from many different publishers, including reference handbooks, conference proceedings and databases, delivering trusted, accessible and relevant answers and insights to accelerate foundational engineering knowledge, build expertise in various subjects, prepare for careers in Engineering.
ScienceDirect
Articles from Elsevier journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
SciFinder
Chemical information database covering journals, patents, conference proceedings & technical papers. Information for connecting to and accessing SciFinder.
SPIE Digital Library
Journal articles and proceedings from the International Society for Optics and Photonics, 1962 to present.

Additional Links

CiteSeer Scientific Literature Digital Library
A scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
National Technical Information Service
From NTIS.gov, the latest U.S. government-sponsored research and worldwide scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related information.
Scitopia
Search for research papers from over 20 leading science and technology societies.

Connect Google Scholar to Search for UW Materials

Tutorial: using Google Scholar to search specifically for materials held by the University of Washington.