Open Educational Resources and Open Textbooks: Author and Publish OER

Pressbooks is an easy-to-use ebook authoring platform that can be used to create and publish OER.

A digital book publishing platform that can be used to create and publish OER and open access books. Manifold can also be used in the classroom, offering students an opportunity annotate texts together in private reading groups or to produce and share student work.

LibreTexts provides free access to more than 400 texts across a variety of disciplines, with an early emphasis on chemistry and other STEM disciplines. The libraries are supported by a nonprofit organization founded by UC-Davis Chemistry professor Delmar Larsen.

StoryMapJS is a free tool that allows you to create a story highlighting the locations of a series of events. You can tell stories with images and add text and other content within your map locations.

An authoring and publishing system for authors of textbooks, research articles, and monographs, especially in STEM disciplines.

Created by GitHub, GitBooks is an Open source tool created by GitHub that allows you to create a textbook that is hosted in a GitHub repository. You can create your content in Markdown or embed rich, multimedia content. Free for open source projects.

A Hub is a customizable, branded resource center on OER Commons where a network of users can create and share collections, administer groups, and share news and events associated with a project or organization.

Free text editor with features to remix and customize materials for groups and courses. Examples of full courses and lessons created in Open Author:

This guide, published by the Open Textbook Network, is for faculty authors, librarians, project managers and others who are involved in the production of open textbooks in higher education and K-12. Content includes a checklist for getting started, publishing program case studies, textbook organization and elements, writing resources and an overview of useful tools.

This is a five-step guide, also published by the Open Textbook Network, for faculty, and those who support faculty, who want to modify an open textbook. Step-by-step instructions for importing and editing common open textbook file and platform types are included.

From the EduTechWiki, an open resource about Educational Technology and related fields. Hosted and built at TECFA, an educational technology research and teaching unit at the University of Geneva.

Chapter from the BCcampus Open Education Self-Publishing Guide: A reference for writing and self-publishing an open textbook.

Helpful guide from the CAUL LibGuide: Open Educational Resources Collective Publishing Workflow.

A practical guide for creating open textbooks that are accessible for all students. Suggestions are for a non-technical user. This resource is a collaboration between BCcampus, Camosun College, and CAPER-BC

New to Open Education? This starter kit provides an introduction to the use and creation of Open Educational Resources. Provides sections on Copyright, Finding OER, Teaching with OER, and Creating OER.

This first edition handbook, published the The Rebus Community for Open Textbook Creation, is intended for faculty interested in practicing open pedagogy by involving students in the making of open textbooks, ancillary materials, or other Open Educational Resources.

Resource for educators looking to use open educational practices in the classroom. Includes examples of open pedagogy practices and ideas.

A resource that provides examples, key factors, and resources about accessibility of OERs

A collaboration between BCcampus, Camosun College, and CAPER-BC, this guide provides resources for creating open textbooks that are accessible for all students.

This self-paced, fully online course is available publicly to provide an opportunity for the everyone to learn more about accessibility, creating accessible content, and being an advocate.