Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- History Day at Special Collections
- Topic: Indian Fishing Rights
History Day at Special Collections: Topic: Indian Fishing Rights
Special Collections is a great resource for all your Pacific Northwest primary source needs!
Background Information
In the 1850s, the United States government entered into a series of treaties with the American Indian tribes of the Pacific Northwest. In the Treaty of Olympia, territorial governor Isaac I. Stevens agreed that the tribes had rights including:
"The right of taking fish at all usual and accustomed grounds and stations is secured to said Indians in common with all citizens of the Territory, and of erecting temporary houses for the purpose of curing the same; together with the privilege of hunting, gathering roots and berries, and pasturing their horses on all open and unclaimed lands. Provided, however, That they shall not take shell-fish from any beds staked or cultivated by citizens; and provided, also, that they shall alter all stallions not intended for breeding, and keep up and confine the stallions themselves."
In 1974 Federal Judge George H. Boldt issued one of the most sweeping rulings in the history of the Pacific Northwest, affirming the treaty rights of Northwest tribal fishermen and allocating to them 50 percent of the harvestable catch of salmon and steelhead.
UW Special Collections has numerous resources related to the initial treaties entered into by the US government and local tribes, support and opposition against the Boldt decision, and the experiences of tribe members since the Boldt decision.
Digital Collections
- Special Collections has digitized some textual documents related to Indian Fishing Rights. Here you will mainly find scanned documents and articles and some photographsrelated to early treaties and the Boldt Decision.
Primary Resources
Isaac I. Stevens by
Washington Territory's first governor who also worked as first superintendent to Indian Rights.
Call Number: F880.S843 R5- Messages from Frank's Landing by Charles Wilkinson explores the broad historical, legal, and social context of Indian fishing rights in the Pacific Northwest, providing a dramatic account of the people and issues involved. He draws on his own decades of experience as a lawyer working with Indian people, and focuses throughout on Nisqually tribal leader, and target of state game wardens, Billy Frank and the river flowing past Frank’s Landing.Call Number: E99.N74 W55 2000
To Fish in Common by
Chapter on Boldt decision and bibliographic references to collections and resources used.
Call Number: E99.L95 B68 1989- Treaty between the United States and the Nisqually and other bands of Indians. 1855 TreatyCall Number: KF8228.N74 A3 1854a (oversize)
- Where the Salmon Run by Based on extensive interviews with Billy, his family, close advisors, as well as political allies and former foes, and the holdings of Washington State's cultural institutions, we learn about the man behind the legend, and the people who helped him along the way.Call Number: E99.N74 H44 2012
- Alfred John Schweppe PapersAccession 3989-003 includes subject files on the Boldt decision and Schweppe's arguments against the decision.
- Cooper family papersFour interviews with members of the Harry Cooper Family, who are enrolled members of the Nooksack Indian Tribe of Washington and fishermen. Topics are associated with salmon fishing, including traditional native fishing in North Puget Sound, effects of the "Boldt Decision" (U.S. v. Washington, 1974) on fisheries user groups, conflicts among these groups, family life, opinion on current events in fishing regulation and politics, and related topics.
- Isaac I. Stevens papersFirst Washington Territory governor who was the first Superintendent of Indian Affairs and wrote and created many of the initial treaties between Northwest tribes and the US government.
- Kenneth McLeod papersPapers and records of activist Kenneth McLeod who was outspoken against the Boldt decision.
- Michael R. Thorp papersMaterial while preparing the federal government's case against the State of Washington, Phase II of the Boldt Indian fishing rights case (U.S. v. Washington, NO. 9213, USDC WD Washington, Phase II). Consultants' reports describe the State's actions which affected the anadromous fishery resource.