Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us!
University of Washington Libraries

Library Guides

UW Ethnomusicology Archives: Welcome

The UW Eth­no­mu­si­col­ogy Archives has been col­lecting and curating unique ethnographic music recordings, films, and video since 1962.

Welcome

The Eth­no­mu­si­col­ogy Archives has been col­lecting and sharing unique ethnographic recordings since 1962. Our holdings of more than 50,000 items include sound, video, and film documenting international, national, and regional musics and related traditions. Click here to search our collections on Archives West. The Archives serve anyone with an interest in our collections: Indigenous community members, students and faculty in the UW Ethnomusicology Program, the broader UW community, film and music producers, fans and scholars from around the world. Questions? Contact ethnoarc@uw.edu

Voices of the First People

Voices of the First People honors the life and work of Vi Hilbert by making accessible audio and video that are part of her collection in the Archives. 

Folk Music of Afghnistan

Global Field Recordings

Global Field Recordings  Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus 

Unique field recordings from UW and UCLA. UW content features recordings made by UW ethnomusicology founder Robert Garfias and includes music from Bali, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Japan, Korea, Laos, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, Nicaragua, Mexico, Myanmar, the Philippines, Romania, Zimbabwe and beyond. The Adam Matthew product also includes interviews, notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera (UW login required). 

Aashish Khan and Zakir Hussain

Seattle Free Jazz Vibes

In 1971, Seattle's Milton Simons (1923-1973) formed the band Jasis and recorded an album with Paul Dusenbury (piano and flute), Milt Gerard (bass), Jimmie Williams (drums). The masters came to UW as part of Kearney Barton’s archive. We’ve posted them below for your own spontaneous academic journey. And if free jazz is your go-to study soundtrack, check out John Coltrane Live in Seattle (UW NetID needed).

John Blacking's "How Musical is Man?"

Barton on Light in the Attic

We have partnered with Light in the Attic Records on a double LP release: Kearney Barton Architect of the Northwest Sound. We may be biased, but we recommend it!

Record cover for the LP Architect of the Northwest Sound by Kearney Barton

Crocodile Cafe Collection

5 years of unique live audio and video recorded at the Crocodile Café by audio engineer Jim Anderson between 2002 and 2007, with 2,000+ artists performing in a variety of contexts: indie rock to punk, shoegazer to noise, hip-hop to math rock. Click here for more info: 

Ask Us!

Comments? Questions? Email us here, call (206) 616-1210, and/or check out our FBInstagram, and SoundCloud

UW Libraries | UW Bothell/CC Campus Library | UW Tacoma Library | Health Sciences Library | Gallagher Law Library
Responsible Use of Electronic Resources | Privacy | Terms