Contact
Patient and Family Education Services
Phone
206.598.7448
Address
1959 N.E. Pacific St.
Box 359420
Seattle, WA 98195-8420
Hours
Monday through Friday: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Recommend a Purchase
Feedback
This is a living document with new perspectives contributing to the field every day. We welcome your feedback and recommendations!
Culture Clues
- Patient & Family Involvement at UW Medical CenterUW Medical Center resources for patients and family as advisors. Learn how to better support your patients and their families!
- UW Medical Center Intranet: Culture Clues
This link opens in a new window
Requires UW Medicine AMC login. - Archive of Culture Clues (last updated 2019)Wayback Machine archive from 2019 of the Culture Clues site. Many care providers search for these resources as they existed at that time. Please note: Because this resource is no longer maintained, we do not recommend relying on the materials within.
Resources to build Cultural "Competence"
Cultural competence, sensitivity, responsiveness, humility, awareness, etc. are terms for the idea of making sure we treat folks of different backgrounds from our own with dignity, respect, and care. This guide is intended to get you started with learning how to care for, educate, and research folks with various backgrounds and identities.
Some basics:
- Please do not treat a person as a representative for their entire culture, race, ethnicity, etc. (i.e., do not treat a group as a monolith nor tokenize a person).
- Similarly, do not assume how one person with a marginalized identity wants to be treated will be the same as another person with the same or a similar identity.
- Please do not assume the 'Golden Rule' is true (i.e., how you would like to be treated may not be how someone else wants to be treated).
The following is an incomplete list of resources for culturally sensitive care, research, and education.
- Practicing Cultural Competence and Cultural Humility in the Care of Diverse Patients2020 Focus (Am Psychiatr Publ) article by Dorothy E. Stubbe, M.D.
- Diversity & Inclusion Books ListRecently added print and ebooks that support diversity and inclusion in the health sciences. Most books below are present on this list, and there are many more relevant ebooks on the Diversity & Inclusion Books List than are listed below.
Addressing Issues of Systemic Racism During Turbulent Times by
During times of crises, such as pandemics, natural disasters, global poverty, nationwide economic issues, and social justice upheavals, African Americans often encounter issues of systemic racism. Turbulent times for African Americans often lead to disparities in the areas of finances, housing, education, nutrition, health, employment, and the criminal justice system. Addressing Issues of Systemic Racism During Turbulent Times raises awareness of the obstacles of institutional racism encountered by African Americans during crucial times with the hopes of providing the needed support for individuals to navigate the systemic barriers. The publication also provides research-based information to create an awareness of issues of systemic racism encountered by African Americans during a time of crisis. Additionally, it focuses on how to create, cultivate, and maintain diversity, equity, and inclusion for marginalized populations. Covering key topics such as healthcare disparities and racial microaggressions, this book is crucial for community and civic organizations, government officials, policymakers, managers, sociologists, activists, academicians, researchers, and students.
ISBN: 9781799885320Publication Date: 2021
Handbook for Culturally Competent Care by
This concise, easy-to-read book tackles the potentially awkward subject of culture in a direct, non-intimidating style. It prepares all health professionals in any clinical setting to conduct thorough assessments of individual from culturally specific population groups, making it especially valuable in today's team-oriented healthcare environment. The book is suitable for healthcare workers in all fields, particularly nurses who interact with the patients 24 hours a day, every day of the week. Based on the Purnell Model for Cultural Competence, it explores 26 different cultures and the issues that healthcare professionals need to be sensitive to. For each group, the book includes an overview of heritage, communication styles, family roles and organization, workforce issues, biocultural ecology, high-risk health behaviors, nutrition, pregnancy and child bearing, death rituals, spirituality, healthcare practices, and the views of healthcare providers. It also discusses the variant characteristics of culture that determine the diversity of values, beliefs, and practices in an individual's cultural heritage in order to help prevent stereotyping. These characteristics include age, generation, nationality, race, color, gender, religion, educational status, socioeconomic status, occupation, military status, political beliefs, urban versus rural residence, enclave identity, marital status, parental status, physical characteristics, sexual orientation, gender issues, health literacy, and reasons for migration. Each chapter offers specific instructions, guidelines, tips, intervention strategies, and approaches specific to a particular cultural population.
ISBN: 9783030219451Publication Date: 2019
For Care Providers
Cases on Communication Disorders in Culturally Diverse Populations by
Communication disorders are impairments in the ability to receive, send, process, and comprehend hearing, language, and/or speech. While the number of culturally diverse populations is growing in the United States, speech-language pathologists and audiologists lack information on serving these culturally diverse populations appropriately and effectively. Cases on Communication Disorders in Culturally Diverse Populations is an essential research publication that provides culturally-competent hearing, language, and speech services and cases across age groups, communication disorders, and culturally diverse populations. These case studies offer a practical and detailed means for assisting professionals in providing culturally-appropriate speech, language, and hearing services. Highlighting various topics such as counseling, language learning, and genetics, this book is indispensable for speech-language pathologists, audiologists, counselors, administrators, academicians, researchers, practitioners, and students.
ISBN: 9781799822646Publication Date: 2020
Cases on Cross-Cultural Counseling Strategies by
It is essential for counselors and counseling professionals to understand the impact of their personal biases and how these biases can impact the counseling process, in addition to respecting and honoring the beliefs of their clients. Communication and the sharing of experiences between counsellors is an effective strategy for perfecting methods to identify and address these biases. Cases on Cross-Cultural Counseling Strategies is a comprehensive research book that explores creative healing approaches used by counselors working with diverse clients in a variety of geographical locations, developmental levels, and complex and varied identities. Each case study applies the Multicultural and Social Justice Counseling Competencies (MSJCCs) to the counseling relationship and looks at unique aspects of the client's identity, specific approaches taken by the counselor, and the outcomes of the counseling relationship. Featuring a broad range of topics such as higher education, international counseling, and gender bias in counseling, this book is ideal for counselors, therapists, psychologists, counselor educators, graduate students, practitioners, academicians, and researchers.
ISBN: 9781799800224Publication Date: 2019
Comprehensive Care of the Transgender Patient by
From a renowned specialist at the Cleveland Clinic and medical and surgical experts in this growing field comes an up-to-date, multidisciplinary resource on transgender health care and surgery. Comprehensive Care of the Transgender Patient, by Dr. Cecile Ferrando, covers all aspects of transgender health care, beginning with epidemiology and history and progressing to an in-depth review of the complex transition for patients, including mental health services, endocrine and hormone therapy treatment, and surgical options. Incorporates all of the latest guidelines for providers and patients, written by experts from a wide variety of disciplines involved in transgender patient care. Contains outstanding surgical chapters contributed by prominent surgeons who regularly perform these procedures, providing clear guidance on male-to-female and female-to-male surgical options. Features high-quality, full-color illustrations throughout. Covers key topics in every area of transgender health care, including Mental Health Care for the Adult and for the Child and Adolescent Transgender Patient; Hormone Treatment for the Adult and Adolescent Transgender Patient; Facial Surgery for Transgender Patients; Breast and Genital Surgeries for Transgender Patients; and Primary, Preventive, and Gynecologic Care. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323496421Publication Date: 2019
Counseling and Psychotherapy for South Asian Americans by
This essential text explores what it means to be a South Asian American living in the US while seeking, navigating and receiving psychological, behavioral or counseling services. It delves into a range of issues including cultural identity, racism, colorism, immigration, gender, sexuality, parenting, and caring for older adults. Chapter authors provide research literature, clinical and cultural considerations for interviewing and treatment planning, case examples, questions for reflection, and suggested readings, as well as worksheets and handouts. The book also includes insights on the future of South Asian American mental health, social justice, advocacy, and public policy. Integrating theory, research, and application, this book serves as a clinical guide for therapists, instructors, professors and supervisors in school/university counseling centers working with South Asian American clients, as well as for counseling students.
ISBN: 9781003081548Publication Date: 2022
Delivering Quality Healthcare for People with Disability by
Awarded first place in the 2021 AJN Book of the Year Awards in History and Public Policy! Those with disability-be it mild and a mere inconvenience, or one that necessitates the use of high-tech support for survival-have repeatedly reported that their healthcare needs are not adequately addressed by healthcare providers. Most healthcare professionals, including nurses, are unfamiliar with the consequences of disabling conditions in the lives of individuals with disability. They lack knowledge about how to communicate effectively with those with all types of disability, do not consider the effect of individuals' disability on their ability to participate in health-promotion efforts, harbor negative attitudes and bias toward them, stereotype them, and often perceive them as unable (or unwilling) to take an active part in their own care. Ineffective communication on the part of healthcare professionals when interacting with individuals with disability has broad implications and repercussions. Healthcare providers who believe they know best, and are the experts on disability, will continue to ignore the wishes and preferences of individuals with disability and their desire to make decisions about their own lives and healthcare. Many healthcare professionals presume people with disability are reluctant to participate in health promotion. Individuals with disability have reported that healthcare providers are uncomfortable and unwilling to discuss issues related to sex and sexuality with them. They have further reported that healthcare providers assume that they are uninterested (or perhaps believe that they should be uninterested) in sexual relationships, intimacy, pregnancy, and childbearing. Women with disability who have elected to become mothers and have sought out prenatal care have reported that their healthcare providers' first assumption was that the reason individuals with disability; these agencies and organizations have identified changing the educational preparation of healthcare professionals as a primary strategy and an important first step. Several organizations, with input from individuals with disability, have developed competencies that should be expected of all healthcare professionals who interact with individuals with disability. The Alli-ance for Disability in Health Care Education has urged nursing, medicine, and other healthcare professions to endorse these competencies with the goal of moving forward in the effort to improve the healthcare of individuals with disability. Nurses have been very involved in the development of these competencies from the beginning of the process. Several nursing organizations, including Sigma, have endorsed the cross-discipline competencies developed by the Alliance for Disability in Health Care Education (2019). This book is based on the principle and belief that all healthcare professionals regardless of discipline, level of education, or role within the healthcare system have a role in caring for individuals with disability. As such, they need a basic understanding of the issue of disability to provide appropriate, optimal, and sensitive healthcare to those with disability. These issues and more are addressed in the chapters of this book. It is intended to provide information to nurses, nursing students, and other healthcare professionals to enable them to communicate with and provide quality healthcare to individuals with disability.
ISBN: 9781948057455Publication Date: 2021
Social Work and Health Care Practice with Transgender and Nonbinary Individuals and Communities by
This book examines issues across the lifespan of transgender and nonbinary individuals whilst synthesizing conceptual work, empirical evidence, pedagogical content, educational experiences, and the voices of transgender and nonbinary individuals. It highlights the resilience and resistance of transgender and nonbinary individuals and communities to challenge narratives relying on one-dimensional perspectives of risk and tragic lives. While there is currently unprecedented visibility and increasing support, members of these communities still face shockingly high rates of violence, victimization, unemployment, discrimination, and family rejection. Significant need for services and support coupled with social, clinical, and medical service systems ill-equipped to provide culturally responsive care illustrates the critical need for quality education and training of educators, practitioners, and service providers in best practices of working with members of the transgender and nonbinary community. Organized into six sections: Health Areas of Practice Coming Out and Family Relationships and Sexuality Communities Multiply Marginalized Identities and Populations, this book offers a current, comprehensive, and intersectional guide for students, practitioners, and researchers across a variety of professions, including social work, psychology, public policy, and health care.
ISBN: 9780429443176Publication Date: 2020
Multicultural Perspectives on Gender and Aging by
As people grow older, cultural issues arise. Recognizing how social influences guide and restrict people leads to a better understanding of one's self and helps people as they age. Multicultural Perspectives on Gender and Aging provides emerging research on midlife issues, physical aspects of aging, and the emotional value in the context of the culture in which people are living. While highlighting topics such as elderly disabilities, quality of life, and gender dimensions, this publication explores self-esteem in older members of society. This book is an important resource for academicians, healthcare professionals, professionals, researchers, and students seeking current research on the social and cultural characteristics of growing old.
ISBN: 9781522547723Publication Date: 2018
For Educators
The Equal Curriculum by
This first-of-its-kind textbook marks a revolutionary effort to reform medical education nationally by providing a comprehensive, high-quality resource to serve as a foundation for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) health education across multiple disciplines. Addressing the decades-long unequal weight of medical education generally offered about the care of LGBTQ people, The Equal Curriculum was created to advance clinicians' competencies in optimizing the health of LGBTQ people. This textbook is designed to be integrated into health sciences curricula and offers pointed strategies to evaluate the integration of LGBTQ health topics. Starting with a brief overview, chapters 1 through 4 cover general content that is highly relevant to all health professionals working with LGBTQ people. Chapters 5 through 12 focus on specific patient populations and clinical specialties, and chapters 13 and 14 cover special topics. Key points in each chapter are highlighted to aid in the comprehension, and case vignettes are provided throughout the textbook, allowing learners to apply the content to clinical scenarios in order to evaluate how the application of relevant knowledge may impact health outcomes. Questions similar to National Board of Medical Examiners (NBME) style are provided in most chapters to assist in the application of content. As major addition to the clinical literature, The Equal Curriculum: Student and Educator Guide to LGBTQ Health should be of great interest to health sciences instructors, medical students in their preclinical and clinical phases, and trainees from other disciplines, such as physician assistants, nurses, social workers, and public health professionals.
ISBN: 9783030240240Publication Date: 2019
Ethical Research Approaches to Indigenous Knowledge Education by
South Africa's recent higher education protests around fees and decolonizing institutions have shone a spotlight on important issues and inspired global discussion. The educational space was the most affected by clashes between languages and ideas, the prioritizing of English and Afrikaans over indigenous African languages, and the prioritizing of Western medicine, literature, arts, culture, and science over African ones. Ethical Research Approaches to Indigenous Knowledge Education is a cutting-edge scholarly resource that examines forthcoming methodologies and strategies on educational reform and the updating of curricula to accurately reflect cultural shifts. The book examines the bias and problems that bias creates in educational systems around the world that have been dominated by Western forms of knowledge and scientific processes. Featuring a range of topics such as andragogy, indigenous knowledge, and marginalized students, this book is ideal for education professionals, practitioners, curriculum designers, academicians, researchers, administrators, and students.
ISBN: 9781799812494Publication Date: 2020
Education As the Driving Force of Equity for the Marginalized by
In the USA, racism is the most widespread root of oppression. Black people in America, specifically, have suffered from centuries of discrimination and still struggle to receive the same privileges as their white peers. In other countries, however, there are other groups that face similar struggles. Discrimination and oppression based on religion, ethnicity, socio-economic status, political affiliation, and caste are just a few categories. However, education is a root for widespread societal change, making it essential that educators and systems of education enact the changes that need to occur to achieve equity for the groups being oppressed. Education as the Driving Force of Equity for the Marginalized highlights international research from the past decade about the role education is playing in the disruption and dismantling of perpetuated systems of oppression. This research presents the context, ideas, and mechanics behind impactful efforts to dismantle systems of oppression. Covering topics such as teacher preparation, gender inequality, and social justice, this work is essential for teachers, policymakers, college students, education faculty, researchers, administrators, professors, and academicians.
ISBN: 9781799880257Publication Date: 2022
- Health Sciences Educator Library ResourcesResources in support of health sciences faculty development.
- Diversity in EducationResources related to having diverse faculty, physicians, and educators.
For Researchers
Decolonizing Methodologies by
With Decolonizing Methodologies, Linda Tuhiwai Smith made us rethink the relationship between scholarly research and the legacies of colonialism, and to confront the reality that, for the colonized, such research was often inextricably bound up with memories of exploitation. Offering a visionary new 'decolonizing' approach to research methodology, her book has continued to inspire generations of decolonial and indigenous scholars. This revised and expanded new edition demonstrates the continued importance of Tuhiwai Smith's work to today's struggles, including the growing movement to decolonize education and the university curriculum. It also features contributions from both new and established indigenous scholars on what a decolonizing approach means for both the present and future of academic research, and provides practical examples of how decolonial and indigenous methodologies have been fruitfully applied to recent research projects. Decolonizing Methodologies remains a definitive work in the ongoing struggle to reclaim indigenous ways of knowing and being.
ISBN: 9781786998163Publication Date: 2021-04-08
Advancing Culturally Responsive Research and Researchers by
Advancing Culturally Responsive Research and Researchers: Qualitative, Quantitative, and Mixed Methods encourages readers to design and engage in methodologies and methods that place cultural relevancy at the center of inquiry. In doing so, it highlights the need to uplift voices and needs of people who have been historically marginalized in the environments that we both inhabit and engage in as part of knowledge construction. The scholars whose work is featured in this volume take up research from different paradigmatic, ontological, epistemological, axiological, and methodological approaches - yet, with adherence to centering cultural responsiveness in all research decisions. Each chapter seeks to extend understandings of social inequities, methodologies, and/or methods - and to contribute to meaningful and evolving social change through innovative and cutting-edge research strategies. While doing this work, the authors illustrate and highlight the importance of researcher positions and reflexivity in supporting the expansion of culturally responsive approaches; they also do so while considering global sociopolitical conditions of this moment in time. The contributions to this volume were initially presented at the first biennial Advanced Methods Institute in 2021. The Institute was hosted by QualLab in The Ohio State University's College of Education and Human Ecology and shared this volume's thematic focus. As a handbook, the volume can help faculty and advanced researchers with interest in doing culturally responsive projects to better understand frameworks, approaches, and considerations for doing so. It includes activities to support readers in developing said understandings.
ISBN: 9781000640892Publication Date: 2022
Engaging Black and Minority Ethnic Groups in Health Research by
No detailed description available for "Engaging Black and Minority Ethnic Groups in Health Research".
ISBN: 9781447359159Publication Date: 2021
Indigenous Research of Land, Self, and Spirit by
Indigenous cultures meticulously protect and preserve their traditions. Those traditions often have deep connections to the homelands of indigenous peoples, thus forming strong relationships between culture, land, and communities. Autoethnography can help shed light on the nature and complexity of these relationships. Indigenous Research of Land, Self, and Spirit is a collection of innovative research that focuses on the ties between indigenous cultures and the constructs of land as self and agency. It also covers critical intersectional, feminist, and heuristic inquiries across a variety of indigenous peoples. Highlighting a broad range of topics including environmental studies, land rights, and storytelling, this book is ideally designed for policymakers, academicians, students, and researchers in the fields of sociology, diversity, anthropology, environmentalism, and history.
ISBN: 9781799837299Publication Date: 2020
Handbook of Research on Protecting and Managing Global Indigenous Knowledge Systems by
Indigenous knowledge systems (IKS) are a combination of knowledge systems encompassing technology; social, economic, and philosophical learning; or educational, legal, and governance systems. The lack of documentation of these systems presents a problem as the knowledge is fading away over time. In response, it is essential that policies and strategies are undertaken to ensure that these systems are protected and sustained for generations to come. The Handbook of Research on Protecting and Managing Global Indigenous Knowledge Systems is a comprehensive reference source that works to preserve indigenous knowledge systems through research. Focusing on key concepts such as tools of indigenous knowledge management and African indigenous symbols, the book preserves and promotes indigenous knowledge through research and fills the void staff and students within the field of indigenous knowledge systems face with the current lack of research and resources. This book is ideal for university students, lecturers, researchers, academicians, policymakers, historians, sociologists, and anyone interested in the field of indigenous knowledge systems.
ISBN: 9781799874928Publication Date: 2021
UW Libraries Resources
- Health Sciences Library (HSL) HomepageStart your research here to be connected with the UW Libraries' subscription resources like databases, journals, books, and more.