Culture Clues
Cultural Competency & Researchers
Below are a list of resources handpicked by HSL librarians for UW researchers aiming to incorporate cultural competency into their projects.
- Looking for FREE online learning modules? [Culture Clues | Home page]
- Looking for SDOH data sources? [CDC | Local Data for Better Health]
- Looking for Washington state data visualizations and reports? [Washington Health Alliance | Community Checkup]
Relevant Toolkits
Need help?
Connect to our 24/7 real-time, online question service.
- Health Sciences Library: (206) 543-3390
- Li Lu Library: (206) 685-3940
- Additional contact information
Feedback
This is a living document with new perspectives contributing to the field every day. Therefore, we welcome your feedback and recommendations!
Book List for Researchers
Decolonizing Methodologies: Research and Indigenous Peoples by
To the colonized, the term 'research' is conflated with European colonialism; the ways in which academic research has been implicated in the throes of imperialism remains a painful memory. This essential volume explores intersections of imperialism and research - specifically, the ways in which imperialism is embedded in disciplines of knowledge and tradition as 'regimes of truth.' Concepts such as 'discovery' and 'claiming' are discussed and an argument presented that the decolonization of research methods will help to reclaim control over indigenous ways of knowing and being. Now in its eagerly awaited third edition, this bestselling book includes a co-written introduction features contributions from indigenous scholars on the book's continued relevance to current research. It also features a chapter with twenty-five indigenous projects and a collection of poetry.
Publication Date: 2021, 3rd edition
Advancing Culturally Responsive Research and Researchers by
Advancing Culturally Responsive Research and Researchers: Qualitative, Quantitative, and Mixed Methods encourages readers to design and engage in methodologies and methods that place cultural relevancy at the center of inquiry. In doing so, it highlights the need to uplift voices and needs of people who have been historically marginalized in the environments that we both inhabit and engage in as part of knowledge construction. The scholars whose work is featured in this volume take up research from different paradigmatic, ontological, epistemological, axiological, and methodological approaches - yet, with adherence to centering cultural responsiveness in all research decisions. Each chapter seeks to extend understandings of social inequities, methodologies, and/or methods - and to contribute to meaningful and evolving social change through innovative and cutting-edge research strategies. While doing this work, the authors illustrate and highlight the importance of researcher positions and reflexivity in supporting the expansion of culturally responsive approaches; they also do so while considering global sociopolitical conditions of this moment in time. The contributions to this volume were initially presented at the first biennial Advanced Methods Institute in 2021. The Institute was hosted by QualLab in The Ohio State University's College of Education and Human Ecology and shared this volume's thematic focus. As a handbook, the volume can help faculty and advanced researchers with interest in doing culturally responsive projects to better understand frameworks, approaches, and considerations for doing so. It includes activities to support readers in developing said understandings.
ISBN: 9781000640892Publication Date: 2022
Engaging Black and Minority Ethnic Groups in Health Research: 'Hard to Reach'? Demystifying the Misconceptions by
In this crucial contribution to current debates, Natalie Darko exposes the misconception that health research and health services are equally effective for all and highlights their failures in engaging with Black and Minority Ethnic (BME) groups. Drawing on case studies, this book presents essential examples of culturally tailored recruitment, engagement and partnerships with BME groups in research and public engagement. Drawing attention to the organisational, structural and cultural barriers that prevent access for BME groups, this important book exposes the practices within health research, clinical practice, commissioning and health services that perpetuate the stereotyping of BME groups as 'hard to reach'.
Publication Date: 2021
Indigenous Research of Land, Self, and Spirit by
Indigenous cultures meticulously protect and preserve their traditions. Those traditions often have deep connections to the homelands of indigenous peoples, thus forming strong relationships between culture, land, and communities. Autoethnography can help shed light on the nature and complexity of these relationships. Indigenous Research of Land, Self, and Spirit is a collection of innovative research that focuses on the ties between indigenous cultures and the constructs of land as self and agency. It also covers critical intersectional, feminist, and heuristic inquiries across a variety of indigenous peoples. Highlighting a broad range of topics including environmental studies, land rights, and storytelling, this book is ideally designed for policymakers, academicians, students, and researchers in the fields of sociology, diversity, anthropology, environmentalism, and history.
ISBN: 9781799837299Publication Date: 2020
Handbook of Research on Protecting and Managing Global Indigenous Knowledge Systems by
Indigenous knowledge systems (IKS) are a combination of knowledge systems encompassing technology; social, economic, and philosophical learning; or educational, legal, and governance systems. The lack of documentation of these systems presents a problem as the knowledge is fading away over time. In response, it is essential that policies and strategies are undertaken to ensure that these systems are protected and sustained for generations to come. The Handbook of Research on Protecting and Managing Global Indigenous Knowledge Systems is a comprehensive reference source that works to preserve indigenous knowledge systems through research. Focusing on key concepts such as tools of indigenous knowledge management and African indigenous symbols, the book preserves and promotes indigenous knowledge through research and fills the void staff and students within the field of indigenous knowledge systems face with the current lack of research and resources. This book is ideal for university students, lecturers, researchers, academicians, policymakers, historians, sociologists, and anyone interested in the field of indigenous knowledge systems.
ISBN: 9781799874928Publication Date: 2021
