Food Systems, Nutrition, and Health Guide

Measurement Tools

Measurement tools are instruments used by researchers and practitioners to aid in the assessment or evaluation of subjects, clients or patients. The instruments are used to measure or collect data on a variety of variables ranging from physical functioning to psychosocial wellbeing. Types of measurement tools include scales, indexes, surveys, interviews, and informal observations.

Qualitative Research

Qualitative research is defined as research that derives data from observation, interviews, or verbal interactions and focuses on the meanings and interpretations of the participants. (Holloway and Wheeler, 1995) Qualitative research can be challenging to find as these methodologies are not always well-indexed in databases.  This research guide will provide some tips and information to guide you in your search for qualitative research articles in databases.

Research Questions

Research questions help you identify the main concepts and build an effective strategy to search for the resources you need. This research guide provides instruction on how to use keywords, Boolean operations (AND, OR, NOT) and frameworks to develop your research question.

Social Determinants of Health (SDOH)

Social determinants of health (SDOH) are the conditions of the environments where people are born, live, learn, work, play, worship, and age that affect a wide range of health, functioning, and quality-of-life outcomes and risks. This research guide provides search strategies and learning resources for SDOH from both US and international perspectives.

Website workaround

Find a .gov health information website that no longer works or now seems to include less diverse information?

• Example: January 2025 MedlinePlus Population Groups, Current MedlinePlus Population Groups
• Quick fix: Copy/paste the original website URL in the top level (WayBackMachine) of archive.org where previously archived copies are indicated by blue dots on the calendar dates. Not all websites may have archive copies available.
• How do I cite a work accessed through WayBackMachine? guidance from MLA

Guides to alternative access resources

• Federal Data: Alternative Access
  UW Libraries guide with alternative access points for federal data that has been removed from official sources.
• Environment and Climate: Alternative Data Sources
  University of Southern California guide to alternative access points for common environment and climate resources.
• Public Health: Alternative Data Sources
  University of Southern California guide to alternative access points for common public health resources.

Alternative access database and websites

A database is a collection of resources. A mirror website is hosted on an alternative platform, aiming to replicate an original website and its URL structure.

• Policy Commons: 2025 Open Collection is a searchable database of materials preserved from government organizations facing the removal of public information and data.
• Webrecorder US Government Web Archive is a collection of complex, interactive mirror websites of 2025 administration change websites including CDC, Climate.gov, EPA, USAID and more.

Social justice includes research through an inclusive lens that centers communities. 

As you are conducting your research, keep these questions in mind - 

• Have you spoken over or for historically excluded communities rather than listening to the issues the community wants to address?
• Have you sought out research from diverse perspectives? Think about race, ability, gender identity, etc.
• Have you accounted for the impacts of racism over time? E.g., structural racism and economic/social injustice methods, such as redlining and creating unequal access to resources like education, food & healthcare.

Learn more from 

Venkateswaran N, Feldman J, Hawkins S, et al. Bringing an Equity-Centered Framework to Research: Transforming the Researcher, Research Content, and Practice of Research Research Triangle Park (NC): RTI Press; 2023 Jan. 

Guides

Books

Articles & News

Steps for a Literature Review

Here is a recommended structure for how to approach all types of literature reviews:

1. Propose topic and deliverable
2. Search for relevant literature 
3. Evaluate sources
4. Identify themes, debates, and gaps
5. Outline the structure
6. Write your literature review

Unsure what type of literature review to write? See Types of Reviews for a summary of them to decide which is right for you.

Need writing help? See Writing Support resources.