Research Guides
Bioengineering: Home
Welcome!
Image: Cells and helices, an image prepared to represent the interaction of DNA-coated lipid tubules with cells for transfection. Image created and provided by Dr. Paul Yager, 2004.
Starting Points / Top Resources
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Major index to articles covering all aspects of medicine, biomedical research, and clinical care.
- PubMed at the UWSearch guides and database tips, interface information, FAQs.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and pharmaceutical literature. Includes good coverage of drug, device, and diagnostic development. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly articles in the Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. Multi-disciplinary. Cited reference searching is also available. - Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information sources in applied science and engineering. Includes Compendex (Comprehensive and interdisciplinary coverage of all fields of engineering) and INSPEC (Physics, electrical engineering and electronics, and computer science and engineering). Each database can be searched separately, as well. - IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and related fields, including bioengineering/biomedical engineering. - SciFinder This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive chemical info database, including biochemistry, biotechnology, and materials. Covers journals, patents, conference proceedings & technical papers. Access restricted to current UW faculty, staff, and students. - SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Curated data and advanced functionalities to support research in materials science, physics, chemistry, engineering, and other related fields.
- Biomedical Sciences ToolkitLibrary services and recommended resources for biomedical and clinical researchers. Includes literature databases, lab protocols, funding & collaboration resources, tools for finding scientific information, and guides for complying with NIH policies.
Engineering Librarian
Life Sciences Librarian
Related Links & Guides
- Open Scholarship Commons UW researchers, instructors, and students can connect with UW Libraries and campus experts to do technology-intensive work across disciplinary boundaries: Data Visualization, Geographic Information Services, Media Production, Online Publishing Platforms, Open Education & Open Pedagogy, Research Data Management, Scholarly Publishing & Copyright, Text Mining, Thesis & Dissertation Publishing.
- Research Commons A place to collaborate, study, and connect. A venue for workshop & presentation opportunities. Support for student & faculty research, including Graduate Funding Information Service, citation management help, design help, writing consultations for graduate students, digital scholarship project help.
- TRAIL - Translational Research and Information Lab Services for researchers in the Health Sciences, Medicine, and Health Care.
- CoMotion Intellectual Property (IP) advising & protection for UW researchers.Innovation funding & competitions. Start-ups & incubation. Technology licensing.
- eScience Institute Data science & the hub of data-intensive discovery on campus.
- Engineering Academic Center Tutoring, study center, workshops.