Skip to Main Content
All Libraries are open, with new expanded hours. Masks required, no eating allowed. Online resources and support are available 24/7
UW Libraries Operations Updates
Quick-Cite Tools in Databases
Did you know that many of the databases, catalogs, and even popular web sites you use for research incorporate quick citation tools to make your life easier? Links may be labelled variously Cite (EBSCO and ProQuest databases, Google Scholar), Cite/Export (UW WorldCat), Citation Tools (Gale databases), or Cite this page (Wikipedia), but they all offer quick cut-and-paste citations in the most common formats. Below are three examples of these "Quick Cite" tools.
Best practice is to always check over and correct the data from quick citation tools, since individual citations often have small omissions or formatting errors.
Example 1: Quick Citations in UW Libraries Search
You can get a citation for an individual item in the new UW Libraries Search in MLA, APA, or Chicago/Turabian formats.
- Click on "Share/Save" in the right-hand corner of the record.
- In the drop-down that appears, click on "Citation."
- A window will pop up with the citation (see below). Choose a citation style by clicking on the left-hand side, then copy the citation and paste it into your bibliography.
Example 2: Quick Citations in EBSCO databases
In EBSCO databases like Academic Search Complete, Historical Abstracts, and PsycINFO, the Cite button provides citations in 7 styles:
Example 3: Quick Citations in Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a Cite feature too, with citations in MLA, APA, and Chicago N&B:
Citation-Generating Web Sites
Note: Best practice is to always check over and correct the data from quick citation tools, since individual citations often have small formatting errors.
Build a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software. Supports 9,000+ citation styles. From the team behind Zotero.
Recently recommended by the Chicago Educational Newsletter, this is a free and easy-to-use tool that supports MLA, Chicago, and APA styles
Citation builder for MLA, Turabian, Chicago, IEEE, ASA, SSF, Harvard, and Vancouver styles. Covers a very limited number of source formats.
Form helps build citations in 18 different styles for web sites, books, and newspaper, magazine, and journal articles.
Free web-based citation builder from Calvin College's Hekman Library; produces citations in MLA, APA and Chicago Notes styles.
Specialized Citation-Generating Sites