To find published oral histories available in the UW Libraries use UW Libraries Search with the terms: oral history or oral histories or interviews. For example: interviews civil rights. This search will also find oral history transcripts housed in Special Collections.
To find oral histories on the web, format Google searches like these: "oral history" subject term(s) site:.org and "oral history" subject term(s) site:.edu
This is just a selected list of digitized oral histories available on the web.
Try searches like these in Google to find more sounds that you can use in your projects.
The Western Soundscape Archive features audio recordings from the eleven contiguous western states, as well as baseline sound monitoring in the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge in Alaska. The website offers sounds of more than 570 different Western bird species, all of the region's vocalizing frogs and toads, dozens of reptiles and more than 100 different types of mammals. Ambient recordings are also available.
Spencer G. Shaw; credit: UW iSchool
Due to COVID-19 restrictions, the physical sound collection in Special Collections is unavailable.
Special Collections has many oral histories, interviews, and reminiscences that range from occupational histories of ordinary workers to those of politicians, activists, and organizational officers. They also house other formats like linguistic tapes and the tapes from the music department's performances.
Some of their oral histories have been digitized and are available in the Many Paths, Many Voices: Oral Histories from the UW Special Collections.
Much of their materials need to be migrated to modern formats which takes time and money. Look for "listening copies" which are available on CDs for you to use. For example, the Spencer Shaw papers include reel-to-reel recordings of the full run of his Story Hour on the Air radio program (1961-1968) from Long Island, NY. It was essentailly the predecessor to the Reading Rainbow TV program. Listening copies are available for two tapes: 5/15/1966 and 6/9/1968.
Collection Guides Search (Finding Aids):
Select audio and moving image collections are described in these online guides. Finding aids provide detailed descriptions of a collection, including background information about a collection and its context, identification of and description about the content, and restriction information. http://digital.lib.washington.edu/findingaids/search
Special Collections staff will match you with sound and video material relevant to your historical subject/topic. Contact them for help.