Skip to Main Content
All Libraries are open with limited hours. Masks required, no eating allowed. Online resources and support are available 24/7 UW Libraries Operations Updates
Dissertations & Theses
Theses and dissertations are a key source for finding the latest scholarship, additional material such as data sets, and detailed research. They can also help you find out what has been written on a topic, uncover other sources through citations, and get inspiration for your own research project. Theses and dissertations are typically held in print and/or electronically by the institution where they were written. Many newer theses can be accessed online. Check with the library or academic department where it was written if you cannot find a thesis or dissertation online.
Dissertation & Thesis Resources
Dissertation Abstracts (Linguist List)
Information about the dissertation abstracts in the Linguist List database. Search or browse abstracts, or add/edit the abstract for our own dissertation.
UW Theses & Dissertations
ResearchWorks Archive at the UW
Full text dissertations completed at UW. Full coverage from 1997-2008 and 2012 - present; sporadic coverage prior to 1997. Login with UW NetID for full access.
UW Libraries Search - Advanced Search
Search for hard copies of dissertations & master's theses written at the UW. Prior to 2012, not all master's theses were submitted to the Libraries collection. As of 2012, no hard copy dissertations or theses will be added to the collection. Many will be available via ResearchWorks Archive or Proquest Dissertations & Theses.
Search by author: Change the drop-down to "author/creator"
Search by title: Change the drop-down to "in the title"
Search by subject or department: Change the drop-down to "in subject"; use the heading "theses" followed by the department:
- theses linguistics
- theses computer science
Search by topic: Use the keywords search and combine the phrase "theses and" followed by a topical keyword(s):
- theses and natural language processing
- theses and sociolinguistics
- theses and acoustic phonetics