Research Guides
Computational Linguistics: Home
Information resources for computational linguistics at the University of Washington
Information Resources for Computational Linguistics
Literature in computational linguistics is heavily based on conference papers, with the open repository ACL Anthology being a standard resource in this discipline. Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) is a database of scholarly literature, including journals and books in linguistics and related disciplines, and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global includes theses and dissertations in all disciplines. Google Scholar is not a repository or a database, but a search engine best used for casting a wide net, but lacking the advanced search options of other tools. For best results, use a mix of these resources. See the other pages of this guide for more.
Computational Linguistics Theses
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Index to doctoral dissertations and selected masters theses from 1861 to the present. Includes all UW Linguistics theses 2012-present and 2 million+ more full text dissertations published since 1997.
- University of Washington Linguistics Theses, 1963-2011The University Libraries holds older dissertations and theses in print, including over 400 submitted to the Department of Linguistics, 1963–2011
Language Resources and Data
- CompLing Database (UW Linguistics ONLY)UW LINGUISTICS LOGIN REQUIRED Access to corpora and other data resources licensed for use by the UW Department of Linguistics and its affiliates.
Computational Linguistics Books and Overviews
Speech and Language Processing: An Introduction to Natural Language Processing, Computational Linguistics, and Speech Recognition (3rd ed. DRAFT) by Call Number: WEBSITEPublication Date: 2023The as-yet-unpublished 3rd draft of the most comprehensive CL textbook adds new content for an up-to-date view of the field.
Linguistic Fundamentals for Natural Language Processing: 100 Essentials from Morphology and Syntax by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: EBOOKPublication Date: 2013
- Computational Linguistics (Oxford Bibliographies)
- This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliography from Oxford University Press introducing key resources, events, and papers in CL
Computational Linguistics Conferences & Papers
- ACL AnthologyOpen digital repository of research papers in computational linguistics from the Association for Computational Linguistics (ACL). Provides free access to over 100,000 conference and workshop papers on computational linguistics and natural language processing.
Computational Linguistics Scholarly Articles
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature in linguistics and CL, including journal articles, dissertation abstracts, and book reviews - ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and conference publications in computer science from the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) - Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowScholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
See help for accessing articles from off-campus through Google Scholar.
Linguistics Librarian
Dan Mandeville
he/him
Contact:
Dan Mandeville, Nordic Studies and Linguistics Librarian
Suzzallo Library / SUZ 139
Box 352900
Suzzallo Library / SUZ 139
Box 352900
206-685-1446
Library Services for Graduate Research
- Interlibrary Loan & Scanning ServicesRequest books and articles not held by UW Libraries with an ILL account
- Library Links (Google Scholar)Access full text directly from Google Scholar by adding UW to your Library Links
- Proxy BookmarkletEasy login for the off-campus proxy service. Log in to licensed e-resources from off campus with this easy-to-use browser button
- Services for Online & Distance UsersDistance options for accessing materials. As a current University of Washington student, faculty or staff, there are many options for accessing UW Libraries materials if you are not able to come to campus.
- UW Libraries Purchase Request FormSuggest an item for purchase. Bookmark the Purchase Request page and let us know when the Libraries don't have a resource you need
