Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- Education
- Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Education: Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Encyclopedias and specialized dictionaries provide broad overviews on educational topics, concepts, issues, theories, and other information that can help you find additional resources. Handbooks and companions are good resources for finding literature reviews, in-depth background about a topic, and often a summary of the state of scholarship in the field.
Major encyclopedia: Oxford Research Encyclopedia: Education
Encyclopedia collections: Gale Ebooks, Oxford Reference Online & Sage Reference Online.
Encyclopedias
To find additional encyclopedias, search UW Libraries Search for your broad topic followed by the term encyclopedias. For example: higher education encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Critical Whiteness Studies in Education
This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Educational Philosophy and Theory
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Middle Grades Education
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Queer Studies in Education
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Special Education
- This link opens in a new window
- International Encyclopedia of Education
- This link opens in a new window
- International Encyclopedia of Media Literacy
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Resesearch Encyclopedia of Education
- This link opens in a new window
- Praeger International Handbook of Special Education
- This link opens in a new window
- SAGE Encyclopedia of Classroom Management
- This link opens in a new window
- SAGE Encyclopedia of Contemporary Early Childhood Education
- This link opens in a new window
- SAGE Encyclopedia of Online Education
- This link opens in a new window
- SAGE Encyclopedia of Out-of-School Learning
- This link opens in a new window
- Sociology of Education: An A-to-Z Guide
- This link opens in a new window
Handbooks & Companions
There are hundred of handbooks in the field of education. These are just a selection. There is no comprehensive way to search for handbooks and companions. To find additional handbooks, search UW Libraries Search for your topic followed by the words such as "handbook," "companion," or "handbooks manuals". For example: music education handbook
- Bloomsbury Handbook of Global Education and Learning
- This link opens in a new window
- Cambridge Handbook of Applied School Psychology
- This link opens in a new window
- Handbook of Higher Education and Disability Handbook of Higher Education and Disability
- This link opens in a new window
- Handbook of Civic Engagement and Education
- This link opens in a new window
- Handbook of Educational Psychology and Students with Special Needs
- This link opens in a new window
- Handbook of Indigenous Education
- This link opens in a new window
- Handbook of Multicultural School Psychology: An Interdisciplinary Perspective
- This link opens in a new window
- Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children
- This link opens in a new window
- Handbook on Promoting Social Justice in Education
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Higher Education in the Asia-Pacific Region
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Religion and American Education
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of the History of Education
- This link opens in a new window
- Palgrave Handbook of African Education and Indigenous Knowledge
- This link opens in a new window
- Palgrave Handbook of Race and Ethnic Inequalities in Education
- This link opens in a new window
- Routledge Handbook of the Economics of Education
- This link opens in a new window
- Routledge International Handbook of Dyslexia in Education
- This link opens in a new window
- SAGE Handbook of School Organization
- This link opens in a new window
- SAGE Handbook of Special Education
- This link opens in a new window
- Wiley Handbook of Educational Policy
- This link opens in a new window
- Wiley Handbook of Ethnography of Education
- This link opens in a new window
- Wiley Handbook on Violence in Education: Forms, Factors, and Preventions
- This link opens in a new window
- Routledge Handbook of Education in India: Debates, Practices, and Policies
- This link opens in a new window