Skip to Main Content
All UW Libraries are CLOSED but online resources and support are available 24/7! Please see our COVID-Update page for reopening dates and hours starting in September. UW Libraries COVID-19 Updates
Resources That Are Freely Available for use in Teaching/Learning
ERIC- Education Resources Information Center
This link is to the Free version of ERIC that includes access to some freely available full text materials. For a version that links to UW Libraries' holdings, click the Find Articles link at the left.
Sponsored by the US Department of Education. Indexes and abstracts literature, from pre-K through adult education. Includes journal articles and unpublished research documents (including curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations, etc.)
What Works Clearinghouse (WWC)
Reviews the existing research on different programs, products, practices, and policies in education. Produced by the Institute of Educational Sciences. Their goal is to provide educators with the information they need to make evidence-based decisions.
Education Endowment Foundation
The EEF in England provides evidence summaries and teaching and learning tools utilizing evidence-based practices.
Open Educational Resources and Textbooks Guides
Open Educational Resources (OERs) are any type of educational materials that are in the public domain or introduced with an open license. The nature of these open materials means that anyone can legally and freely copy, use, adapt and re-share them. -UNESCO
Videos & Multimedia
K-12 multimedia classroom resources for teaching about a wide range of subjects.
MERLOT (Multimedia Education Resource for Online Teaching & Learning)
Open Educational Materials including tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages, together with associated comments, and bookmark collections. You can filter materials by discipline, grade levels, etc.
PBS Learning Media
ThinkTV and PBS have curated FREE, standards-aligned videos, interactives, lesson plans, and more for teachers. Can be browsed by Subjects, Grades, and Standards
Library of Congress Teaching Materials
The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching.
Find Library of Congress lesson plans and more that meet Common Core standards, state content standards, and the standards of national organizations.