Research Guides
History : Europe: Articles
A research guide to primary and secondary sources for European history.
Find Articles on European History
Historical Abstracts is the best database to use when looking for academic journal articles in the field of modern European history for the period 1450 to the present.
- L'Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Find articles & book chapters on all aspects of Greek and Roman civilization - Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Best database to articles in modern (1450 onwards) world history including European history - International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find articles & book chapters on all aspects of Medieval Europe, 300-1500
- Oxford Bibliographies: Renaissance & ReformationAnnotated listing of the best articles and books on a wide range of topics related to the era including history
Other Useful Databases
- DigiZeitschriften das deutsche digitale Zeitschriftenarchiv This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
- This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Bibliographies: Atlantic History
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Bibliographies: Medieval Studies
- This link opens in a new window
Using Databases to Find Articles
- How to search: Link your search terms using the AND connector. For example: spain AND "civil war" AND "international brigades". You can also use separate search boxes for each term.
- Narrow your search results: Use the All filters option to filter your results by Publication date, Subject, Language & more
- Find full-text of article: Some articles have a direct link to the full text. These have buttons labeled Access now (PDF) or Access now (Online full text). Some articles do not have a direct link to the full text, these articles have a button labeled Access options. Click on the Access Options button and then click Check for full-text availability beyond Ebscohost. This will take you into UW Libraries search to see if we have the full text available through another source. If we do not have the full text, you will have an option to request an article scan.
Additional Help:
- How do I search in Academic Search Complete? This database is also provided by Ebscohost so searching information is similar.
- How do I find full-text articles in Academic Search Complete?
- What does the “Request Article” button mean? This shows you how to request an article scan when we do not have the full text on an article.