Research Guides
Senator Henry M. Jackson, 1912-1983: Related Links
The portal provides a general overview of key archival, printed, and visual resources in UW Libraries Special Collections that document Senator Jackson's long and distinguished career in public service.
Related Links
- The American Presidency Project, University of California, Santa BarbaraContaining over 75,000 documents relating to the history of the Presidency, the American Presidency Project is a comprehensive database of speeches, legislation, public papers, executive orders, and proclamations from George Washington to George W. Bush. The site also contains statistical data on elections and an audio/video archive.
The following web-based tools, including Presidential Libraries websites, are useful sources of biographical and historical information on Jackson and his times. In some instances they direct researchers to archival resources that supplement those found in the Henry M. Jackson Papers at the University of Washington. All of the websites listed below are freely available via the Internet.
- Congressional Biographical DirectoryDirectory searchable by name, position, state, party, year, or congress. Includes biographical information on members of the Senate and House of Representatives from 1774 to the present.
- Dictionary of Political BiographyKavanagh, Dennis. 1998. Dictionary of Political Biography. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press. This is available in Suzzallo Reference, D412 .D53 1998, but may also be accessed online by UW students and faculty. Contains over 1,000 biographical entries on men and women who were major political figures around the world in the twentieth century.
- National Archives and Records AdministrationThe National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) holds the records of the House and Senate committees on which Jackson served, and those of other government departments and agencies with which he dealt while in the Congress.
- The Political GraveyardContains short biographical information on individuals who have been involved in politics at both the state and federal levels. Database can be searched alphabetically, by political office, date or year, state and county, party, or political family.
- U.S. House of RepresentativesThe U.S. House of Representatives contains current information on Representatives and major Committees in the legislature. Also houses Thomas, a database for searching bills in the Congress.
- U.S. SenateThe U.S. Senate contains information on current and past information on U.S. Senators and houses the Congressional Biographical Directory.
- Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive database contains information on more than 30,000 network evening broadcasts from ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN and covers major political and presidential campaigns, as well as national and international events.
- Joint Committee on Atomic Energy Digital Library, Stanford UniversityContains information and resources on the life of the Atomic Energy Commission, which existed from 1946-1977. Contains over 144,000 pages of source materials from the hearings that have been digitized into .pdf documents.
Presidential Libraries
Presidential Libraries
Jackson's political career coincided with the terms of 9 US presidents, from Franklin D. Roosevelt (1933-45) through Ronald R. Reagan (1981-89). These nine presidential libraries and their associated websites provide access to additional archival and online resources relevant to the study of Jackson's career and legacy.