Skip to Main Content
Research Guides

Korean Studies: Korean Collections Consortium of North America (KCCNA)

These are the guidelines by which materials are purchased for the Korean Studies collection of the UW Libraries (Seattle Campus).

About KCCNA

The primary mission of the Korean Collection Consortium of North America is to support Korean Studies teaching and research programs in North America. Its members select, organize, and make available Korean Studies scholarly resources, and provide library services to optimize access and use of the Korean Studies collections developed through the Korean Collection Consortium of North America. 

Established in 1994, the Consortium began with six founding members* (UW, Harvard, Columbia, USC, UC Berkeley, U of Hawaii) and aims to develop and share comprehensive Korean Studies resources across North America. Currently, 14 members contribute by developing resources in designated subject areas and sharing these resource through interlibrary loan.  

Ask a Korean Studies Librarian

Since 2009, the members of the KCCNA have provided the “Ask a Korean Studies Librarian (or Ask Korea)”, a free-of-charge virtual professional reference service open to the public on matters related to Korean Studies. This is the only such resource in North America, although the service is not limited to North America. This reference service is initiated by KCCNA to reach out to institutions with small and medium sized Korean collections in an attempt to assist their resource needs by making accessible the collections developed by KCCNA member libraries. 

The KCCNA continues to provide reference helps to faculty, scholars, students and peer librarians. Each month is managed by one designated KCCNA member who rotates the monthly duty among all 14 members. The librarian who is in charged for the month answers questions while other members are all back-up assisting users with additional information.  

 

Submit a Question by Email: askkorea@googlegroups.com

Members

Member Universities and Their Subject Areas of Collecting

University of California, Berkeley, East Asian Library, Contact: Jaeyong Chang

  • History, 1945- (excluding Unification questions & Democratization)
  • Information Technology
  • Public Finance
  • Sports
  • Transportation
  • Publications on Kangwŏn-do
  • Publications on Korea and Koreans published in Russia, Soviet Union, and Central Asia
  • Publications on Korea and Koreans published in the Bay Area

University of California, Los Angeles, East Asian Library, Contact: Sanghun Cho

  • Archaeology 
  • Buddhism 
  • Christianity 
  • Folklore
  • History, 1392-1864 
  • Library and information science 
  • Non-contemporary language 
  • Publications on Korea and Koreans published in South America 

University of Chicago, East Asian Collection

  • Environmental studies 
  • International relations 
  • Industry (excluding Auto industry) 
  • Welfare studies 
  • Political parties 
  • Pre-modern philosophy 
  • Traditional fiction 
  • Publications on Korea and Koreans published in China and Taiwan

Columbia University, East Asian Library, Contact: Hee-Sook Shin

  • Calligraphy
  • Education
  • Fine arts (Painting, sculpture and photography)
  • History, 1864-1945
  • Performing arts (dance, music and theater)
  • Cultural studies (except history and criticism)
  • Psychology
  • Publications on Seoul
  • Publications on Korea and Koreans published in the New York area

Duke University, East Asian Collection, Contact: Miree Ku

  • Ethics
  • Korean Cuisine
  • Film Studies (History and criticism)
  • Buddhism
  • Cultural studies (History and criticism)
  • Applied linguistics
  • Publications on Korea and Koreans published in South East Areas of the U.S.

Harvard University, Harvard-Yenching Library, Contact: Mikyung Kang

  • Publications on Ch’ungch’ŏng-do
  • Business
  • Genealogy
  • Government – Judiciary Branch
  • History, 1945- (except Unification and Democratization Questions)
  • Law
  • Traditional poetry
  • Publications on Korea and Koreans published in the New England Area

University of Hawai'i at Mānoa, Asian Collection, Contact: Ellie Kim

  • Architecture
  • Democratization
  • History, To 1392
  • Modern social conditions (including Labor Relations)
  • Nationalism
  • Public health
  • Traditional music
  • Urban planning/studies
  • Publications on Cheju-do
  • Publications on Korea and Koreans published in Europe
  • Publications on Korea and Koreans published in Hawai‘i

University of Michigan, Asia Library, Contact: Yunah Sung

  • Auto industry
  • Historiography
  • Democratization
  • Reunification questions (1945- )
  • Labor relations
  • Publications on Korea and Koreans published in Japan
  • Publications on Korea and Koreans published in Michigan, Minnesota, Iowa, and Ohio

Princeton University, East Asian Library, Contact: Hyoungbae Lee

  • Theoretical linguistics
  • Film studies (works)
  • Philology, Paleography
  • Science, Technology and Medicine (STM)
  • History, 1392-1864
  • Government – Executive branch
  • Demographic population studies
  • Publications on Korea and Koreans published in New Jersey, Philadelphia and Maryland

University of Southern California, East Asian Library

  • Publications on Chŏlla-do
  • Film studies
  • Contemporary language & linguistics
  • Geography (including maps and atlases)
  • Communication, Mass media, Journalism, Advertisement
  • Environmental Studies
  • Popular Science
  • Public administration
  • Publications on Korea and Koreans published in Southern California

Stanford University, East Asia Library, Contact: Jee-Young Park

  • Modern economic conditions (Including commerce and non-public finance)
  • Government – Executive branch
  • Modern Korean literature (excluding poetry)
  • International relations
  • History 1864-1945
  • Cultural studies (except Film studies)
  • Traditional essay (collected works)
  • Publications on Korea and Koreans in Oceania & Africa
  • Publications on Korea & Koreans published in North American Rocky Mountains area: Colorado, Utah, and Arizona

University of Toronto, East Asian Library

  • Anthropology
  • Local and regional government
  • Military science and history
  • Modern literature
  • Modern philosophy
  • Socialism and communism
  • Publications on Koreans in Canada as a whole
  • Publications on Korea and Koreans published in Eastern Canada (Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island)
  • Transnational and Diaspora Studies

University of Washington, East Asia Library, Contact: Hyokyoung Yi

  • Anthropoligy
  • Decorative arts
  • Gender studies and Family relations
  • Juvenile literature
  • Modern poetry
  • Tourism
  • Publications on Kyŏngsang-do
  • Publications on Korea and Koreans published in South and South East Asia
  • Publications on Korea and Koreans published in Pacific Northwest Area: Washington, Oregon, Alaska, Montana, Idaho, Wyoming
  • Unification Questions

Yale University, East Asia Library, Contact: Jude Yang

  • Digital Humanities
  • Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
  • Video Games
  • Religions (except Christianity and Buddhism)
  • Government: Legislature
  • Korean Medicine
  • Textile and Costume
  • Publication on/from Kyŏnggi-do