Korean Studies: Related Local & Regional Collections

The University of Washington Libraries is a member of the Orbis Cascade Alliance, a consortium of academic institutions in Oregon, Washington, and Idaho. Korea related materials in English can be borrowed across the consortium. Collaboration among members of this regional consortium expands the print resources available to UW students, faculty and staff through Summit, the Alliance joint catalog. The Orbis Cascade e-book program allows the UW community to view electronic books that are accessible to and jointly owned by all member libraries.

The Seattle Public Library and King County Library System collections include some popular materials related to Korea. 

The Libraries actively participates in regional and national cooperative collection development efforts which enhance the range of resources available to UW students, faculty, and staff while conserving precious funds for local acquisitions.   These include:

Korean Collections Consortium of North America (KCCNA). UW has been one of the six founding member institutions of the KCCNA since 1994 participating in cooperative collection development programs funded by the Korea Foundation. With this program, UW has special subject areas where we have built strong collection to share with the rest of other KCCNA member libraries. Our specialy subject areas include Women/Gender studies, Korean poetry, Juvenile literature, Tourism, and Kyongsang (Southeastern area of Korea) province.  

Center for Research Libraries (CRL).  This organization acquires research material in print, microform, and electronic formats on behalf of its members, including foreign dissertations, newspaper archives, and other important but infrequently used resources.  In addition, the UW Libraries participates in several initiatives of CRL's Global Resources Program  that focus on international scholarly resources, such as news, government publications, and  technical reports.  Two other CRL programs offer UW scholars access to resources that are not owned by the UW Libraries or by CRL.  Requests should meet a specific research or teaching need and total no more than $2,000 annually.

• Demand Purchase Program.  For purchase of foreign dissertations, newspaper issues, and published archives.  Requests are forwarded from the Libraries' Interlibrary Loan office.

• Scholar's Access Program.  For limited-term access to a database, newspaper, or other electronic resource.  Requests should be made through your subject librarian. 

  
Orbis Cascade Alliance. Collaboration among members of this regional consortium expands the print resources available to UW scholars through Summit, the Alliance joint catalog. The Orbis Cascade e-book program allows UW patrons to view electronic books that are accessible to and jointly owned by all member libraries.